Firsts

It’s been a week of firsts for me! Nothing too crazy kids, just some fun activities with a twist.

The first happened last Sunday when I attended my first baby shower solo. By solo, I mean that I have never attended one without my mommy for a coworker of hers or a family friend. This was my first baby shower for my own friend! It’s uncommon for Jewish parents to have showers or similar parties before the baby is born because it “tempts the evil eye.” This is something I learned only a couple years ago, and it frustrates me. Maybe I want to have a baby shower one day! The “to shower or not to shower” issue is becoming less of a superstition and more popular for everyone to have them now, so we’ll see what happens in a few (many) years for me πŸ™‚

Brunch spread

Baby stuff is adorable...even disposable plates!

Baby shower games....mmm guess the baby food!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

New thing #2 was a new restaurant! Now, I know that’s not that exciting since most restaurants in Pgh are still new to me, but this was extra special because I picked it not expecting much and was extremely satisfied with the way everything turned out. I was especially nervous because the in-laws were in town, and I always feel bad when I pick something, like a restaurant or movie, and people aren’t happy with the choice. I was also scrounging for restaurant ideas because there aren’t too many good choices where we live, unless you want fast food or a lame chain restaurant…
We ended up going to Nick Marie’s Esta Esta, an authentic Italian eatery that’s been in Monroeville for over 50 years. From the outside, this place doesn’t look like much, but the food MORE than makes up for what’s lacking in decor. The ingredients were fresh, the balsamic was homemade, and the Grilled Portabella with Boursin was divine!

The coolest oil & vin shaker. ever.

My scrumptious shroom & cheese topped with peppers and onions

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

And finally- very fitting for this time of year- I hosted my first Thanksgiving! It wasn’t anything too spectacular, but I made lots of goodies and turkey was present. I certainly did not cook a whole bird and can’t imagine EVER sticking my hand up a dead animal’s butt, but my trusty Trader Joe’s had the perfect freezer aisle solution- a big piece of cooked turkey breast with herbed cornbread stuffing for four people. It was perfect alongside my mashed potatoes, braised cabbage, cranberry sauce, sweet potato fries, maple glazed carrots and turnips, and some challah from Dakota back home. Yum! And let’s not forget dessert- homemade pumpkin pie and a ridiculous TJ’s chocolate present cake with Haagen Dazs coffee ice cream. Heaven.

 

The feast!

There's always room for dessert...

Smiley pumpkin pie πŸ™‚

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and have a lot to be thankful for. I know I do. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment