Food Tour of Dormont

Happy Food Day!

This weekend, to celebrate my love of eating and the upcoming Food Day, I took a food tour of Dormont, a South Hills neighborhood near Pittsburgh. OK, I didn’t really need a reason like an adopted food-related holiday to spend two hours walking around and eating at every stop 🙂

First stop: A historical look at Dormont through their 100-year commemorative mural.

Next stop: Potomac Bakery. What better way to start off a tour than with a cookie from an over 80 year-old family-owned bakery?

The thumbprint cookie was yummy, but I was clearly dreaming about donuts!

Next Stop: Dormont Dogs. Mmmmm specialty hot dogs with delicious buns from Potomac Bakery. Keeping it local!

Texas chili dogs for the rest, and a bruschetta veg dog (bottom left) for moi!

Next Stops: Hollywood Theater (A super cute, non-profit movie theater with real balcony seating, cheap snacks, and a lovely art gallery), Don Campiti’s Pizzeria (serving slices in paper bags!), and Fredo’s Market (a cute Eastern European-style deli & restaurant with Bosnian immigrant owners that reminded me of my daddy!)

Last Stops: Sugar Cafe. Holy Irish Carbomb cupcake! Guiness stout chocolate cupcake with Bailey’s buttercream frosting. Yes, please!

Pumpkin cupcakes, Cosmo citrus-cran cupcake, and my Irish carbomb on the bottom. YUM!!

So what if I had to lick the frosting before taking a picture?

Finally: Asian Pear wine tasting (with locally grown Asian pears) at Beyond Bedtime Books.

Culinary Cory with giant, locally grown Asian Pears

My reactions: Dormont is completely charming! I loved visiting local businesses, whether food, books or the non-profit movie theater. Everyone was so festive in their Halloween decorations, and really emphasized keeping business as local as possible. I can’t wait to go back and try the Dor-Stop, featured on Diners, Drive-ins & Dives!

completely charming Dormont

Thanks to Burgh Bits & Bites for a great tour! Culinary Cory was a great guide, and they totally catered to my veggie needs (which was extra nice because I was the only “special” one!)

Food tours are a great way to get an intimate feel for a neighborhood, whether it’s one you’re visiting as a tourist or one you should learn more about as a resident or neighbor. You not only get to experience the neighborhood through local food vendors, you also get to learn about their history and how the food culture of that place came to be.

I’m really glad I learned about charming Dormont through food, because I might not have visited otherwise. And then I wouldn’t have been able to experience delicious veggie dogs and alcoholic cupcakes. Now that would have been a shame!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Culinary Cory
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 04:59:20

    What an awesome post! You photos look amazing. And who’s that good looking guy holding the pears? (just kidding) Thanks so much for letting me lead you around Dormont for the day.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: 25 Before 25 – One Month Left! « Motor City Girl in the Steel City

Leave a comment