Product Review: Kashi’s Vegan Frozen Meals

Healthy, affordable, vegan, normal-ingredient-filled frozen meals…They exist! In terms of healthier, all natural packaged foods, Kashi is a heavy hitter. I know people sometimes have issues with companies like this “selling out” to appeal to a bigger market, but I’m really happy that Kashi is making “hippie-like” food more accessible to the masses. Sorry, but we can’t all cook and eat like Tal Ronen.

I’m always scouring the frozen food section to check out what’s on sale, what’s new, and to whine over the prices of Morningstar Farms and Boca products…Through my shivering walk up and down aisle 12, Kashi caught my eye. I’m already a Kashi cereal fan, and I have enjoyed their frozen meals in the past, so I’m especially glad to see their focus on vegan meals!

One of the things I love about Kashi products is knowing I will get a good dose of fiber and protein in. The vegan frozen meals did not disappoint with around 8g fiber and 8g protein and only 260-340 calories each. And, in case you were wondering, I did not find myself asking “Where is the cheese?” 🙂

Pros:
Taste – creamy, flavorful, well spiced
Choices – hopefully they’ll come out with even more, but I’m digging the flavors: Tuscan Veggie Bake, Black Bean Mango, and Mayan Harvest Bake. I didn’t see the Veggie Chana Masala at my local grocer, but I hear that’s also available for your Indian food needs.
Price – $4 a piece is a bargain for a healthy, yummy, and quick vegan lunch
Ingredients – a short, readable list of ingredients full of whole grains and veggies

Cons:
Fullness factory – at around 300 calories a pop, I’m not expecting this to hold me over without a nice side of greens and/or fruit!
Cooking time – I know it’s already super convenient, but my tummy was kind of upset to wait 8 microwave minutes to cook (and the box suggested I not use my work’s toaster oven :-().
Sodium – as with most packaged foods, the salt factor can be astronomical. These meals weren’t so bad at 29% of my day’s worth, but it’s still something to be mindful of, so I try not to have more than two packaged meals or soups in a week.

Overall, I was very satisfied with Kashi’s vegan (and many vegetarian) frozen meals. I’m really happy to have this lunch option in my arsenal of quick and easy meals. Hope you enjoy, too!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. theindianfood
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 06:45:17

    nice article. thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment