Four Dollar Vegan

When I first got interested in vegetarianism, I scoured the web for resources – blogs, recipes, links to good books, and so on. All of the information really equipped me with the tools to be successful and not just a “potatoes and pasta veggie” as some might say. Now, as I try to lean more vegan, I am once again looking to blogs and especially books for ideas and inspiration. I’ve got some great cookbooks on the shelf – The Kind Diet, The Happy Herbivore Cookbook, Appetite for Reduction– but one I’m really digging these days is Eat Vegan on $4 a Day by Ellen Jaffee Jones. With a household full of graduate students living off loans (sigh), this sounds like my kind of book!

Not only does the author offer almost 100 simple and accessible recipes, she also does the math! She breaks down the costs of each recipe per serving and offers tips on working with different ingredients to get the most bang for your buck, so to speak. She’s also a planner (a woman after my own heart!) and puts together a weekly menu plan to show how you can easily eat a varied, tasty diet on less than $4 per day.

My favorite parts of the book come even before the recipes begin. There are cutesy chapter names, like “Bolster your Budget Breakfasts” and “Penny Wise Spreads and Sides” (peek inside on Amazon), but I also really appreciate Jones’ exploration into our culture’s infatuation with junk food and convenience foods as the most economical food choices (wrong-o!). She talks about the lack of government advertising dollars allocated to fruits and veg (sad face), speaks honestly about chemicals and pesticides (don’t go crazy trying to avoid all of them, but be mindful and limit what you can by eating plant-based), and talks about eating locally and seasonally to save $$ and the environment (two thumbs up!).

OK, I don’t want to give it all away, but this is a fantastic resource for budget-minded people; soooo, that’s most of us! Even if you are not vegan or even vegetarian, the book offers a lot of food for thought. Pun intended 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jillianmckee
    May 21, 2012 @ 16:53:25

    Hi,

    I have a quick question about your blog, do you think you could email me?

    Jillian

    Reply

Leave a Reply

