A Quarter Century

Sorry for the hiatus, folks. I’ve been working on 4 final papers due today, so that I can say I’ve finally finished my first semester of graduate school! In other news, this is my 200th post. Woo Hoo!

Also, in more special news, I turned 25 yesterday! That’s just crazy talk, if you ask me. I’m happy to say that I completed several of the items on my “25 before 25” list, and I’m wrapping that up tonight with a real cooking class/birthday party!

I feel like I’ve accomplished a lot in my 25 years so far, but there are always doubts in my head that I’m not doing enough…So to look on the positive side, I wanted to think of some of my most proudest accomplishments/moments/memories and look to all the great things that lie in my future. I think it suits us all to appreciate things we’ve done well and set goals for what we hope to achieve.

1. Becoming a leader – Throughout high school, college, and many jobs, I feel like I have developed some great skills and honed my abilities as a natural leader.
2. Scholarship – Without receiving a full-tuition scholarship to Wayne State University, I don’t know if I would have been able to complete college without putting my family into debt, and I would never be able to forgive myself for that.
3. Love – I am lucky to have the love in my life from my wonderful and quirky family, and to have created and worked at the best relationship I have ever had with my husband, Eric.

Goals: I don’t plan to make a yearly list of the smaller thing I hope to accomplish, but I think it’s important to have an idea of priorities and long-term goals.

By the time I am 30 (eek!), I hope to:

1. Have a child – at least one. This will of course come when Hubs and I feel ready for that big step.
2. Pay off some debt – between medical school and grad school, we certainly won’t pay it off in the next 5 years, but we should have a regular payment plan set up and be working toward that big goal.
3. Get in touch with my Hungarian – I keep saying I want to learn more of the language, but I know that I need to commit to some kind of plan to actually retain more than the basic words I already know. I also want to absorb as many of my family’s stories as I can, because I won’t always have my grandmother and other relatives around to share those special memories.
4. Live in another city – Detroit is our hometown and where our family is. Pittsburgh is a great place to go to school and live for a few years. But we would love to experience another city, maybe westward. Denver, perhaps? πŸ™‚
5. Volunteer on a regular basis – I already do a lot of volunteer work, but it’s mostly sporadic. I hope to figure out a few great causes that I want to be involved in that reflect my knowledge, hobbies, and priorities in life.

Do you have any other recommended goals for me? I appreciate others’ input, but know that I can only set goals that I think I will be able to accomplish and want to do for myself.

What are some of your long-term goals?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stuckinpittsburgh
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 15:15:53

    Funny that you should mention Denver. My girlfriend and I are looking at places to move – all dependent on where she gets into grad school. I think Denver is top on the list right now.

    Reply

    • Julie
      Dec 20, 2011 @ 21:14:24

      We loved Denver when we visited last year, and it seems like there are great opportunities there. Good luck to your girlfriend!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

