Being Thankful

Yay, a truly food-related holiday is upon us! OK, all holidays revolve around it, but I am BEYOND excited for my very-foodie Thanksgiving this year. Pics to come later, friends!

For now, I want to leave you with some inspirational articles about alternative ways to do Thanksgiving, and a reminder:

When giving out praise this Thursday, make sure to thank all your friends and family for preparing the food and sharing it and the holiday with you, but please also consider thanking the people who grew, processed, shipped, and sold the food that you were able to cook this holiday and all year-long. And, as a vegetarian side note, please consider and thank all the animals who sacrificed their lives for you to enjoy.

I would like to give a special shout out to all the under-appreciated farmers out there who provide me with fresh fruits and vegetables, grains, legumes, and even that processed stuff that has to come from somewhere and someone. And also, thank you to cows, goats, and hens that occasionally provide me with cheese and eggs. I am sorry for your suffering, and I am trying not to contribute to it any longer. Sorry for the semi-rant, but hey, it’s my blog…

And finally, thank you for reading.

Happy Thanks-Veg-Giving! 

Source

Veg-Links:

A Thanksgiving Feast, No Turkeys Allowed

Gluten-free, Vegan Thanksgiving

4 Tips for the Perfect Vegan Thanksgiving

Thankful Turkeys

Vegan Thanksgiving Done Deliciously

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. VeraSKay
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 15:19:07

    Hi Julie,

    So I tried to find a way to contact you elsewhere aka email but couldn’t seem to find it so I thought I’d try commenting as the next best option. My name is Veronica Kawka and I’m a Master’s of Professional Writing student currently working on a group project at Carnegie Mellon University collaborating with the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette to establish a Pittsburgh based food blogging community. We have been doing extensive research and happened to come across your blog. We were wondering if you would be willing to speak with us about possibly joining our blogging community and helping us create a network that could connect the Post-Gazette with experienced bloggers. We want to establish a mutually beneficial community that will attract a greater audience for food bloggers and ultimately create revenue for bloggers such as yourself. You can reach me by email at verak89@gmail.com. Thanks and again awesome blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

