Good Taste! Pittsburgh

You know what’s great about being a Food Studies student? FOOD. ALL. THE. TIME. ok, that’s my real life anyway, but being a legitimate studier of food allows me to participate in different foodie-related activities, such as festivals and fairs and other fun finds! Enter: GoodTaste! Pittsburgh, featuring local vendors, cooking demos, and lots of eats to go around!

Not only did I attend this event a couple weeks ago, I also got to participate as a vendor on behalf of my program and pass out some delicious pumpkin waffles, courtesy of my student-colleague Barb.

I wasn’t entirely impressed with the food samples – I was hoping for more local goodies and companies I could support in the future, but there was still plenty of excitement! MyPlate showed up with props to educate us on nutritious options:

There were also plenty of non-plastic, real food options:

FUDGE!

Natural/Organic vendor's offerings

 

Beet-flavored picked eggs? Looks weird, tastes yummy!

Buffalo flavored eggs...a new twist on a buffalo wing!

I was also very excited to meet Jeffrey Saad, runner up on season 5 of The Next Food Network Star. He judged the gingerbread house competition and also taught me how to make the perfect eggs…

taking his judging job very seriously

 

very excited to talk about eggs!

Overall, it was a fun experience and I walked away with a full belly and bag of treats to take home! Check out their website for other highlights.

Leave a Reply

