Accessible Asian

My palate has never been as graced with Asian flavors as it has this past year in Pittsburgh. I can’t seem to get enough of this other-side-of-the-world-cuisine, from Chinese to Taiwanese to Burmese, and I think part of the reason is that this city has so many options. I feel like I haven’t even scratched the surface!

Some of my favorite affordable/everyday spots (that means they’ll be an upscale Asian cuisine post, too. Woo hoo!):

Rose Tea Cafe – very reasonable prices for a lot of food. And they have every flavor of bubble tea under the sun! I loved that my bubble tea was served in a big glass mug (you know, with the heavy duty handle) and that there were mini and normal sized “bubbles.” Yum!

A giant plate of tofu in a very spicy sauce. Good thing there was a ton of rice, too!

Spice Island Tea House – this quaint dining establishment is always busy and for good reason. They have great lunch specials and such flavorful food. I love that this is near my workplace and know I can always get a delicious curry with fancy coconut rice!

such pretty food

And their menu rocks!

recycled, cute and to the point

Burma Tokyo – I honestly didn’t know Burmese cuisine existed before I found this adorable hole-in-the-wall. And yes, I had to look up where Burma (Myanmar) is on a map. Doh.

Mixed vegetable soup and my friend's sushi in the background

You could bathe in this perfectly spiced “stoup” on a crisp fall evening. Luscious!

Sun Penang – I’m still thinking about those Malaysian pickled vegetables with peanut sauce. What a unique dish!

Achat with peanut sauce and fresh summer rolls

Square Cafe – OK, this place does not serve up much southeast Asian cuisine, but I just had a rockin’ chickpea and tofu curry hash that I thought you should drool over:

Curry-licious!

Call out to my Pittsburghers: Where else should I dine for a true taste of Asia that won’t break the bank?!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 15:48:41

    i ALWAYS wonder about tofu at Asian restaurants. I am 90% sure it’s all conventional, which means GMO. I stay away.

    Reply

  2. Valerie @ City|Life|Eats|Life|Eats
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 13:55:15

    I saw your comment on the Choosing Raw Take back Your Health Conference giveaway and wanted to let you know that this week I am hosting a giveaway for a ticket to the same conference.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

