Review: Little Bee

Oh my. This was an amazing book. I could tell by page 3 that I was really going to enjoy reading this.

Gorgeous writing. I can’t even imagine where the author came up with some of his descriptions…of the most normal seeming things. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to write so eloquently, which is why I like the free flowing nature of blogs, but I was absolutely enamored of this book. It was sad. And hopeful. And gut-wrenching. And beautiful.

This was a fictitious story with real world possibility. unfortunately.

Little Bee is the main character in this novel of the same name. She’s a teenage refugee from Nigeria who has experience more in her sixteen years than anyone should in a lifetime.  The story takes us through her chance meeting with a British couple and how that relationship evolves. I don’t want to get any deeper into the story because it’s absolutely worth reading.

I’ll leave you with just a little taste of the eloquent writing, from page 1:

“Most days I wish I was a British pound coin instead of an African girl. Everyone would be pleased to see me coming. Maybe I would visit with you for the weekend and then suddenly, because I am fickle like that, I would visit with the man from the corner shop instead – but you would not be sad because you would be eating a cinnamon bun, or drinking a cold Coca-Cola from the can, and you would never think of me again. We would be happy, like lovers who met on holiday and forgot each other’s names.”

Read it. NOW.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Siobhan
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 18:53:51

    I don’t often like to be issued with commands. Problem with authority. But I will obey on this occasion, master…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

