Becoming A Runner

Yesterday I jogged 15 minutes straight. That’s well over 1 mile. I NEVER thought I would be able to move these stubby legs for a full 5,280 feet. I didn’t even run the mandatory mile in elementary or middle school…I did that whole jog/walk/whine thing!

I’m becoming a runner. I AM BECOMING A RUNNER. Woah. It’s still sinking in.

"Glistening" after a run

Here are the reasons I shouldn’t be a runner:
1. Childhood asthma that I never properly took care of.
2. Flat, wide feet that have always bugged me.
3. My short attention span and getting bored very easily.
4. Did I mention those stubby legs? At 5′ 2″, I’m mostly head, boobs and torso πŸ™‚

Here’s what changing:
1. Following the Couch to 5K Plan. It’s amazing!
2. I’m not giving up.
3. I’m learning how my body reacts to different environments…so I don’t run when it’s super humid so as not to aggravate my minor asthma (duh, I know).
4. I’m not giving up.
5. I buy real runner shoes at a real running store.
6. I’m not giving up.
7. I’m finding amusing distractions….good music, nice scenery, running partners.
8. Oh yeah, I’m NOT giving up!

I’m going to run a full 5k. That’s 3.1 miles. I don’t know quite when. But I will run a 5k when I’m ready. And right now, I feel much closer to ready than I ever have before.

As long as I remember to put my socks on the correct feet. Oops πŸ™‚

stop sniffin' my feet, kitty!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tori
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 14:50:27

    Detroit transplant here too (but to Tucson)!

    As for this:

    I don’t know quite when. But I will run a 5k when I’m ready.

    When my partner and I were in C25K week 6, we started looking around our area for a 5K that sounded good to us. As it turns out, it’s a 5K through wine country that doesn’t happen until October, but it sounds so good that we can’t help but be excited about it. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Ingrid & Bob
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 15:47:48

    You’re looking good as always. Don’t run in the sun. Hope Pittsburgh is being really good to you two.

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 01:06:33

    wow – good for you! you’ve got the right ‘tude going

    Reply

Leave a Reply

