Mad about Mad Mex

You know about my obsession with big Burrito, right? I’m so glad I discovered this restaurant group that runs some of the best dining establishments in the ‘Burgh. They offer all types of cuisine – Mediterranean (Casbah), Pan Asian (Soba), Caribbean (Kaya), CalMex (Mad Mex) and more that I have yet to try but would surely enjoy.

I love knowing that I can celebrate a special occasion at one of big’s finer restaurants while also frequenting more casual Mad Mex. I’ve never had a bad big Burrito meal. Wanna see?

Top 5 Veg Meals @ Mad Mex (complete with fun descriptions):

Size-of-your-head burritos

5. Angry Hippie Burrito – Grilled portabello, spicy spinach, and pico de gallo.  Try soy cheese instead of Jack to go Angry Vegan.

4. Chickpea Chili – Tomatillo-jalapeño-based chili gone garbanzo with Spanish onions, cheese and sour cream.

3. Herb O’Vore’s Tofu Tacos – Totally cubular, dude! Crispy tofu tossed in sweet-soy-citrus General Zaragoza sauce. With bean sprouts, sliced avocado, cilantro and Avocado-tomatillo salsa. Pico de gallo, too.

Tofu Tacos!

2. Overtly Masculine Grilled Portabello with Foo-Foo Tofu Fajita – Two grilled portabello caps and marinated tofu with corn and zucchini. Don’t worry, ordering this won’t make you straight.

1. Black Beanie Quesadeenie – Kaya® Yucatan Black Bean Dip with pineapple and cheese.

My favorite parts about Mad Mex? Besides their witty food descriptions, you can easily make any meal vegan with non-dairy sour cream and cheese (rather than just omitting), and their guac ROCKS!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nichelle Nicholes
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 16:29:55

    I love love love Mad Mex too… but last time I was there, I was told there’s mayo in the black bean dip, so that one can’t be made vegan. But there are TONS of other options. I also love the Pennsyltucky Fried Tofu and the nachos with soy cheese and tofu sour cream appetizers.

    Reply

    • Julie
      Aug 04, 2011 @ 17:17:03

      Sad story about the mayo! I knew it was too good to be true…thanks for letting me know.
      I’ve also heard the Pennsyltucky Tofu is good. I’ll have to try those nachos!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

