Oakland’s Farmers Markets

I am lucky to work in a lively, happenin’ neighborhood of Pittsburgh. “Meds and Eds” is what Oakland is charmingly nicknamed for its multiple hospitals and university campuses. In the summer, they up the ante with serene Schenley Plaza – great for sunbathing, people watching, and free yoga – and not one, but TWO farmers markets!

My view as I walk to the farmers market...pretty sweet!

Wednesday afternoons from 2:30 – 6:30pm, there are about a dozen vendors in front of Phipps Conservatory offering produce, cheese & meats, pastries and more. I thought this market was just O.K. but I appreciated the local vendors and know where to get some tasty goat cheese if I so desire. My favorite purchase was a new to me product: kombucha.

Locally made and worth a try. I didn’t quite get used to the fermenty taste, but it was a refreshing twist on regular iced tea.

Farmers at Phipps

Friday afternoons have just become brighter because of the Oakland Farmers Market about two blocks away from my office. Last Friday was my first visit to this one-block, one-stop shop full of nice produce choices and some delicious-looking baked goods. I bought a chocolate chip cookie bar from My Goodies Vegan Bakery because 1) yay vegan! and 2) I’ve heard good things about this traveling baker. My cookie bar did not disappoint!

vegan goodies!

I will definitely be visiting the Oakland Farmers Market every Friday until I leave my job and start school…oh, life changes 🙂

P.S. Below is a map highlighting all of the farmers markets around Pittsburgh. Pretty awesome, right?!

Many farmers market choices in and around the 'Burgh

Leave a Reply

