Alive and Well…and Eating Burgers

Sorry for the long hiatus, folks. But I’m back in action! After an amazing Arizona road trip (more on that later) and a week to get reacquainted with east coast time, I think I’ve finally got back in the groove of things.

Fun fact – Today marks our one year anniversary in Pittsburgh! It’s been a great, tough, relaxing and stressful year all at the same time. To celebrate the occasion, Hubs and I played tourists for the weekend. Well, I guess it helped that my father-in-law (FIL) was in town to visit. It’s easier to ignite the fire when showcasing your new city to guests.

After arriving in town and finishing up work for the day, my boys (Hubs & FIL) and I headed to new burger joint Burgatory. I’ve heard rave reviews from co-workers and gotten surprised reactions when I’ve said I haven’t been there yet. And I also heard they had amazing veggie burgers and sinful milkshakes, so I was sold. Hubs and FIL love a good burger, and Burgatory delivered for all of us in taste tests. The boys appreciated the all natural and hormone-free beef, while I devoured a homemade veggie burger of cremini mushrooms, lentils, walnuts and cracked wheat. It’s so nice to get away from the typical soy burger. The taste was spot on, but I wished it was a bit firmer for that “meatier” bite. It was very filling though!

Phat Patti's Veggie Burger with napa slaw

To enhance the burgers, there are a plethora of topping choices. This is one of those burger joints where you get to pick each element of your meal – bun, protein, sauces, toppings, even a rub! It was a little overwhelming for me since I am Miss Indecisive when it comes to food, so I went with the menu’s already put together Phat Patti’s Veggie (smoked gouda, arugula, tomato and avocado wasabi). On the side was some O.K. napa slaw. I topped it off by sharing a spiked Espresso shake with Hubs. Is it sad when I prefer a drink without the alcohol?! I’m not much of a drinker…but I do love sugar.

This new restaurant still has some kinks to work out, like the uncomfortable hi-top chairs and disconnect of decor from their “hellish” title, but all in all it was a nice and quite indulgent dinner. Hey, we waited 45 minutes for a table on a Thursday night….it must be pretty good!

When asked what FIL wanted to see in Pittsburgh (beyond the great restaurants), Warhol sprung to his mind. So off we went to the Andy Warhol Museum, a 7-story shrine to a very interesting man. FIL grew up in the Warhol era, so he was “geeked” as he might say. I found the art, ranging from videos of football practice to naked transgender folks, to be quite unique and odd, just like the man himself, I guess. It was nice to learn about Warhol’s upbringing in the ‘Burgh and what inspired his various works (artist, producer, author, and so on), especially since I never had a reason to study him and only knew about infamous pop art stuff like the Campbell’s soup can.

Art...floating, shiny balloon pillows.

 

Crazy Andy and Hubs after several attempts for FIL to get a good (not blurry) picture of us!

Stay tuned to the blog for part 2 of our tourist travels through Pittsburgh. I promise I won’t leave you hanging for another 3 weeks!

Leave a Reply

