Weeknight Out

Hubs is free (if only for a month), and it feels like we’re a normal, going-out-on-a-weeknight kind of couple! How exciting are we?

Our fantastic mid-week date consisted of the traditional dinner and a movie, but with a Julie spin, of course.

We started with a discounted dinner at Sun Penang (thanks Groupon!). This Malaysian restaurant offers an entirely separate dim sum menu which I sadly could not sample from since everything had shrimp paste in it. Really?! But fear not, veg friends, because I made a delicious dinner out of a couple of appetizers- it’s what I do best, after all.

Achat and fresh summer rolls with a heaping pile of peanut sauce

I dined on fresh and spicy summer rolls filled with lettuce, carrots, cilantro and tofu. And I could not stop dippin’ in that yummy peanut sauce. I also enjoyed a new to me dish: Achat, which are Malaysian pickled vegetables covered in a peanut sauce. Good thing I’m not allergic to nuts! This spicy and sweet dish offered exciting new flavors to my palate, and I loved the addition of pineapple, since the vegetables were quite spicy. This was the perfect cold dinner on a muggy summer night. Hubs said his Hunan Chicken was delicious, too.

After we seriously filled up our bellies, we headed to Schenley Park to enjoy an outdoor movie! One of the amazing things about Pittsburgh is that they are so many great activities going on, especially in the summer, and many of them are FREE! You know I’m in…I hate paying $10 for a cold, dark, loud movie theater. Soooo Cinema in the Park is a much better choice in my book, especially on a calm and comfortably humid summer evening.

PEOPLE! Cute dog alert: bottom right corner

The event began with relaxing blues music, and the movie kicked off a little after 9pm. Hubs and I, along with what felt like a thousand other people, really enjoyed Inception, even if I was continuously murmuring “what the f**k?” through most of the 2 and a 1/2 hours of screen time 🙂

Spectacular views

 

Perfect Date Night!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 17:37:59

    great post. i can’t do Sun Penang either – i live a 5 minute walk from there and teh first time i walked in and asked about their food they totally turned me off at their lack of vegan sympathy 🙂 weeknight dates for the win!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: 25 Before 25 – June Check In « Motor City Girl in the Steel City

Leave a Reply

