Product Review: Greens+ Omega3 Chia

 

 

I got this bar on sale for $1.60 at Plum Market while visiting the D.
It’s not truly vegan, as it contains honey and royal jelly (also a bee product), but it has plenty of benefits: organic, made with living superfoods, high-energy, omega 3 and 6 fatty acids, and plenty of vitamins. I also love that it has 6 grams of fiber. I will not waste my calories and money on supposedly healthy energy bars unless the fiber and protein contents are relatively high compared to calories. This bar has 250 calories with 6 grams of fiber and 5 grams of protein.

Pros:
– Reasonably priced meal supplement (when on sale)
– Natural, pleasant taste (not metalicky like other energy/protein bars)
– Not a junk food disguised as health food
– Kept me satisified longer than most energy bars (2 1/2 hours)
– Portable
– Mostly organic

Cons:
– Not vegan: not a deal breaker for me, but if I’m going to eat a meal replacement/supplement bar, I’d like to find vegan versions as well.
– Chia seeds got stuck in my teeth- slightly unpleasant sticky feeling (but this always happens with chia, so it’s not specific to the bar).
– Price when not on sale. They’re selling a box of 12 for about $36. $3/bar is too steep for me.

I had a hard time thinking of things I didn’t like about this energy bar. I’m always skeptical when trying these “health foods,” but I would have to say that this is the best tasting, healthy energy bar I’ve tried so far. Of course I wish it was cheaper and kept me full longer than 2 1/2 hours, but it’s a great portable snack that’s good every once in awhile, especially when traveling.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 09:52:57

    it’s okay for honey and royal jelly…i was kicked outta the hardcore vegan club ages ago but i truly think that if you’re going vegan for health reasons, then those two items are fully appropriate. to each his own, i guess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

