Free as a Bird

I love roller coasters. I recently visited Cedar Point, the self proclaimed Roller Coaster Capitol of the World. I even got my brother to meet me their for his first ever coaster experience. He posed an interesting question while we hopped from ride to ride, sweating in the 100-degree heat. He asked “why are people so into roller coasters?” He never really understood the intrigue, after all he was a roller coaster virgin until the age of 21. It seems like there is an obvious, automatic response to that kind of question. Me: “I don’t know….it’s thrilling. And fun. And adventurous.” Yeah, that was the best I could come up with.

Then, a few days after that trip, I took a guided bike tour around Pittsburgh and it hit me. I love feeling free. On the bike tour, it was all about the world flying by me and the wind in my face. On the roller coasters, it was the combination of speed and complete lack of control that just set me free. As we climbed hundreds of feet on Millenium Force and Maverick, I just admired the world around us; the people, the rides, the beautiful Lake Erie. And on top of those roller coasters, I felt a sense of release. P.S. Raptor still rules! It’s the ride that always puts a freeing smile on my face 🙂

While I lived in Budapest, Hungary, I went to the best party of my life. All over town, there are these bath/thermal type spas and this Sparty (spa party, get it?!) was held in the fanciest of all- the Gellert Hotel. Large pools, young people, open drinking and smoking, and just a good time. I was a fish in water and nothing was holding me back. I danced in the pools, then jumped to the hot tubs, and was mesmerized by the laser lights and acrobatics hovering above me. I may have been moving a little too much, because the alcohol and dancing in water combination didn’t agree with me later, but in that moment I was free…water whipping around, music buzzing, and friends laughing. It was a great feeling!

I encourage you to seek out those freeing moments.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 15:08:18

    I agree 100% 🙂

    Reply

  2. rick
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 16:13:41

    Raptor is my #1favorite roller coaster in the world. I haven’t rode a ton, but who cares, all i need is RAPTOR! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

