Detox

As I was sweating my balls butt off at the gym this morning, I decided to rethink this whole body cleanse/detox item on my “25 Before 25” list. I wasn’t completely sold on the idea when I wrote it down, but it was always something that intrigued me. There are so many cleanse options out there, so obviously “they” are on to something…There’s the classic Cabbage Soup Diet, colon cleansing options (enema, anyone?),  the Master Cleanse that one too many of my friends have tried, and even ridiculously expensive celebrity-approved options like the Clean Program.

Here’s my thing: the body is really good at detoxifying and cleansing itself. There are so many internal systems in place to take care of that stuff for us. I’m sure Hubs could get more into this if we want to be all scientific and use big words…

The reason I added a short cleanse to my list was because there are times when I, like many others, will have a crappy food week or just feel weighed down and want a refresher. That’s where the cleanse might come in handy. But I think I’m going to let my body do all the tough work.

In case you didn’t know, I am a sweater. Like, dripping down my spin bike and shirt drenched kind of sweater. Detox.
I am also good at getting rid of body waste. Let’s leave it at that :-). Again, my body knows how to detox.

‘Nuff said.

Have a great weekend. Sorry if I made you think about poop! No, wait, I’m not really sorry. I like talking about poop 😉

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 17:11:17

    “Here’s my thing: the body is really good at detoxifying and cleansing itself. There are so many internal systems in place to take care of that stuff for us.”

    This is true, however, the body is bombarded by more chemicals, environmental stressors, and food additives than ever before. The body’s internal systems have not evolved to handle these new sources of toxicity yet. They need assistance. All of the cleanses you listed above are inferior to true naturopathic detoxification protocols. Since you enjoy sweating, you should consider far-infrared sauna therapy. Please take a look at my blog as I’m all about detoxification and so were some of histories greatest disease curers like Gerson, Kelley, and Ehret. I’d love to see you detox; since I did a full-body system, intense detox in May of 2010, I haven’t even had a cold. No sickness, no lack of energy, nothing. The body needs help. I suggest the FI sauna and Andreas Moritz’s protocol for the Liver and Gallbladder Flush. Your body will thank you for it, I promise 🙂

    Rick

    Reply

  2. Julie
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 02:05:06

    Thanks Rick! I’m happy to learn more about these detox methods, rather than the more “mainstream” ones I’ve heard about.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

