Project: Food Budget, Week 20

Budget: $75
Actual: $25.37

Yeah, super low grocery bill this week. And you might have noticed that I didn’t post last week. I’ve had a TON of work meetings/events (where food was involved, of course), so my free time and grocery bill have taken a hit (boo! and yay!, respectively). In case you’re dying to know, last week I spent $56.38.

This will be the last week I’m officially part of Project: Food Budget. I’ve learned a lot and I’m ready to move on to the next project. Here’s what I’m taking away:

1. I’ve always been a good bargain shopper 🙂 but it’s still not as economical if I buy food on sale but then don’t eat it.
2. Menu planning will help me A LOT in the future.
3. I need to worry about what Hubs and I spend eating out more than our grocery bill on certain weeks.
4. It’s great to have ongoing projects and goals in mind. Having a weekly check-in is always a good reminder.
5. Being a part of a bigger group participating in the same project feels nice :-). Advice is freely shared and welcomed over here!

So for my next weekly “project” (starting in June), I will be keeping track of dining out and setting goals along the way. Let’s call it Project: Dining Out Budget (clever, I know). I hope you’ll follow my progress and learn a thing or two with me!

For one last time (on my blog), check out the Project: Food Budget participants:

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. emily
    May 31, 2011 @ 16:11:20

    good luck on your journey! it’s been fun having you be a part of the challenge. i’m sure you will do well on the next project: food budget {dining out edition}.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

