Vegiversary

Happy May! This month marks my first Veg-iversary! Yay I’ve been vegetarian for one year now and it feels great! Recently, I’ve also been learning more about leading a vegan lifestyle and figuring out what’s right for me. It’s been such a wonderful journey so far and I feel like I’m really finding my place in my little foodie world 🙂

Here are a few things I’ve taken away from this past year:
1. People will never stop asking “Where do you get your protein?” It gets worse the more vegan I eat…I promise, it’s not a problem 🙂
2. It takes an effort to learn about what really goes into the processed foods we eat and how foods are grown, manufactured, treated, etc…but I’ve learned so many important things along the way.
3. I’ve discovered amazing blogs and recipes to help in my lifestyle transition.
4. The vegetarian and vegan communities can be full of fantastic supporters and advocates, but also those few who think it’s ‘never enough’ or ‘not truly veg’ or other negative views that don’t help the community. at. all.
5. I’m really happy not eating animals.
6. I love cooking and experimenting in the kitchen and sometimes wish I could do it all day (except for all those dirty dishes!).
7. Sometimes my food seems weird to others, especially Hubs, but I think that’s makes me a pretty cool kid 😉
8. It’s hard sharing a house with a meat-eater, but I applaud Hubs’ efforts to support me and try those ‘strange’ concoctions. I think I got him to like tolerate kale!!

In other spring news, my local farmers market is opening NEXT WEEKEND. When I found out about the early opening date (compared to other markets), I literally clapped my hands in the air and did a little dance. I am beyond excited about those fresh veggies and friendly local farmers. Oh yeah, and the rockin’ pie 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    May 01, 2011 @ 20:14:16

    Congrats on your first vegiversary! i love your blog, hope you stop by mine sometime. it’s great to see pittsburgh vegetarians doing their thing 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    May 05, 2011 @ 12:21:03

    Happy vegiversary! My 1st vegan anniversary was just last month…but I totally forgot about it until May came (oops), so I need to do a vegiversary post too. I totally agree–isn’t it a wonderful feeling to not eat animals?

    Reply

  3. emily
    May 05, 2011 @ 14:45:17

    happy vegiversary! what an even bigger accomplishment doing it solo. i don’t know that i could have done it without the hubster being on board. and vice versa.

    Reply

    • Julie
      May 07, 2011 @ 00:18:38

      thank you! it’s not easy to do it alone in the home, but I have supportive people around me and a great veg blog community to look to!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

