25 Before 25 – April Check In

It’s been about a month since I put together my “25 Before 25” list of things I’d like to do/see/experience. So far, I have accomplished:

21. “Getting away” with my man for a day or weekend (to Ohiopyle, PA) – it was a nice, relaxing weekend. We hope to discover other new to us places around PA in the near future!

22. Watching the documentary Earthlings – a must see. very disturbing but important information to know.

24. Participating in a Learnit through CommuniTeach – I walked the Pittsburgh City Steps in the South Side with a few other young-minded, fun people. I definitely learned something new and got a good workout!

25. Hosting a giveaway on my blog – I gave away The Happy Herbivore Cookbook and really hope to do more of those soon 🙂

Here’s my ongoing list of what’s to (hopefully) come!
1. Run/jog a 5k
2. Transition into a vegan lifestyle
3. Start some kind of further education/night classes
4. Explore the Grand Canyon
5. Plan a trip to Hawaii (hopefully for the end of 2011, right after my b-day)
6. Try a short body cleanse
7. Take a real/professional cooking class
8. Get to a healthier weight (I don’t want to a put a number on this, it’s more about how I feel)
9. Try a new form of exercise/sport/class…barre, anyone?
10. Learn some sign language
11. Go on a real hike
12. Visit an art museum in Pittsburgh (the Warhol, Mattress Factory)
13. See the Nationality Rooms in the Cathedral of Learning at Pitt
14. Get into a regular yoga habit, at least once a week
15. Read The China Study
16. Finish The Hunger Games and/or The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo trilogies
17. Read a classic novel…Jane Eyre, Anna Karenina…something I don’t think I could bear but I should at least try!
18. Volunteer/Work on a farm
19. Watch an outdoor movie
20.  Join a non-profit committee or board
21. “Get away” with my man for a day or weekend
22. Watch the documentary Earthlings (just finished this) it’s a must see, plus it’s free. Warning: not for the faint of heart.
23. See a recent Michael Moore documentary, maybe Capitalism: A Love Story or Sicko
24. Participate in a Learnit through CommuniTeach
25. Host a giveaway on my blog (hint hint!)

I’m looking forward to what the month will bring…maybe I’ll even add a list item or two. Would that defeat the whole ’25’ thing?! Some of these goals are more ongoing processes, so I certainly don’t want to put an end date on them to be completed by December. We shall see what’s to come…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 19:56:21

    i can help you accomplish a lot of those items, the health-related ones of course, and provide tips that helped me do them in the past. it’s so great to see other locals getting into this too! 😀 😀 😀

    Reply

  2. katy
    May 13, 2011 @ 17:19:37

    awesome list! in terms of a hike, what about trekking along with the rachel carson trail folks? there are training hikes leading up to their big, 34-mile challenge hike. the training hikes at the end of may are only 7 miles! fun stuff. http://www.rachelcarsontrails.org/rct/challenge/rctc11

    Reply

Leave a Reply

