Amazing Macaroons

Mmmmm Macaroons!

Look at those pretty puppies. I made them quite fancy if I do say so myself! The blogosphere introduced me to this super easy and delicious coconut macaroon recipe…just in time for Passover! I am currently bringing a batch of these to the D for my weekend visit (no, I’m not blogging while driving).

You MUST make this recipe. I’m not even a huge coconut fan, but these are so velvetty, rich and satisfying that you’ll have to try at least one. Plus you don’t have to feel bad because they’re all natural (only 4 ingredients!), vegan, gluten-free and all that other healthy sounding stuff 🙂

Classic Coconut Macaroons
Adapted from Oh She Glows and Healthy Hoggin’

Ingredients:

  • 2 and 2/3 cups shredded unsweetened coconut (to make coconut butter)
  • 2 (additional) cups shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 3/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. Kosher salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 300F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. In a food processor, process 2 and 2/3 cups of shredded coconut for about 4-6 minutes until coconut butter forms. You will have to keep scraping down the sides of the bowl every couple of minutes. Alternatively, you can use 1 cup of store bought coconut butter (but that stuff’s expensive and I’m cheap-o!)
2. Once you have made the coconut butter, mix all ingredients together in a bowl.
3. Scoop 1-2 tablespoons of dough onto parchment-lined baking sheet. You don’t have to leave much room in between as they do not spread out. (Makes 22-28 macaroons)
4. Bake for 25-28 minutes. Watch them closely after 22-23 minutes.
5. Allow the macaroons to sit for 25 minutes so they can firm up. If you don’t do this, the macaroons could crumble, so paws off for awhile! Store in the fridge for up to 5 days in a sealed container.

As you will notice, I fancied up my batch by drizzling and dipping them in dark chocolate. I melted dark chocolate chips in a double boiler (boiled water and placed a glass bowl over water to cover it, then added choco). I thinned out the chocolate a bit with coconut milk to my desired consistency. Then I let the mix cool for a minute just so it wouldn’t further cook the macaroons.

Then I dipped, dipped, dipped and used the leftover chocolate to drizzle with a spoon.

Voila! Hubs was SO happy. He loves macaroon season 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chubby Vegan
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 14:58:17

    These look great! So easy too…!

    Veggie Burgher & I are going to meet and talk about a PGH Vegan bake sale… you interested? Email me- mychubbyvegan@gmail.com

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Project: Food Budget, Week 15 « Motor City Girl in the Steel City
  3. emily
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 16:12:29

    those looks amazing. i just might have to try a batch today.

    Reply

  4. Tova
    May 11, 2011 @ 02:53:59

    I love macaroons. How’d you find Kosher for Passover maple syrup?

    Reply

    • Julie
      May 11, 2011 @ 13:04:52

      I made them before Passover so I didn’t really think about that, but I don’t keep :-/
      You can use another sweetener like agave if that comes in KforP style!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

