Veg Friends

There are quite a few veg-friendly restaurants in Pittsburgh. Even the random dive bar usually has a satisfying veggie wrap…Here are a couple of my faves (so far):

The Quiet Storm

Sunday Brunch

I’ve visited this casual veg joint twice now, and would do so more often if I lived any closer. On a recent Sunday, I enjoyed this tofu benedict dish, described as a “gluten free biscuit topped with zesty tofu, sliced tomato, kale & T V P bacon, and drizzled with pimento cheez. With smashed taters & gravy.” I appreciate being able to order vegetarian food that I wouldn’t normally make at home. Don’t get me wrong, though, I still love a simple veggie wrap every now and then!

Green Mango

Frrrrresh!

While GM isn’t specifically vegetarian/vegan like Quite Storm, there are so many options to choose from at this Thai inspired casual restaurant. Just look at that beautiful spicy tofu mango salad! It came with “strips of mangoes, crispy tofu (I got mine steamed), cucumbers, cilantro, tomatoes and onions served on a bed of green leaf lettuce w/ a spicy lime sauce.” I paired this super refreshing salad with tom yum soup for a filling meal.

I love the relaxed atmosphere and reasonable prices at both of these dining establishments. But my absolute fave restaurant in this category is Mad Mex. So many choices, so filling, so delicious! I’m sure I’ll be posting pics of their gigantic burritos soon!

P.S. I’m really looking forward to trying The Zenith one day soon 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laur
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 22:36:54

    I like Quiet Storm as well. I used to live down the street from it, and ate there often!

    I like Zenith, but the brunch buffet overwhelms me. The entrees and side dishes are good, but I feel obliged to try all the vegan cakes and they are not that great and then I get too full!

    I liked GM the one time I ate there.

    I also love Aladdin’s and the Whole Foods hot bar and salad bar!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

