Reality Check

Imagine if you only had $5.00 per day…

What would you do?
How would you survive?

I work for a non-profit fundraising organization, and almost on a weekly basis we have representatives from partnering agencies speak about the work they do with the dollars we help to raise. Today’s speaker moved me to be increasingly thoughtful of the way we live in America and how much we take for granted. 

After hearing about poverty in Moldova and other FSU countries (one of which my dad is from), it really hits me how fortunate I am to be born into the family I am, and to be an American…with rights, opportunities, and plenty of money compared to so many other people. I write about trying to keep a $75 budget per week on groceries for my husband and me (and often overspend), yet there are people spending $60 per month on keeping themselves fed, and that surely doesn’t include the luxury of eating out, which I don’t even count in our $75 weekly budget. AND many people can’t even afford that $60 per month and need to seek aid elsewhere…

The fact is, many of us in first world countries are lucky and blessed and need to help those in worse situations, whether it be our neighboors or strangers in other countries. Please be more mindful of this, and maybe save that money you’d normally spend on $4 coffees and send it to United Way, UNICEF, WHO, or some other worthy acronym…

That is all. I’m stepping down from my soapbox now.
I will leave you with this:

“It is not your obligation to complete the task,
but neither are you at liberty to desist from it entirely…”
Pirke Avot 2:16

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. emily
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 18:45:37

    great post. must have been a very powerful speaker. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

