Product Review: Primal Strips

I’m a consumer. You’re a consumer. There’s really no way of getting around the fact that we need stuff and lots of it. So I figured it might be helpful to share my thoughts about stuff I’m trying out. I always appreciate and value friends’ and bloggers’ opinions. A lot of it will revolve around food (no surprise there), but hopefully along the way, I’ll also be able to share my experiences with home goods, new (to me) stores, workout gear, etc…as I have done with my restaurant and book reviews.

Firt up: Primal Strips – Meatless Vegan Jerky Seitan

I immediately purchased these individually packaged snacks from Whole Foods when it was brought to my attention that there was such thing as vegan jerky! I used to love turkey jerky, so I was ready to chomp on a few strips, namely the mesquite lime and texas bbq flavors. 

Pros:
Great flavor with all natural ingredients
Reasonably priced
Individually packaged for on-the-go
Lots of protein, yet low-cal
Many flavors
Vegan without feeling like you’re missing out on aything (great for omnis)

Cons:
Messy. My fingers were covered in flavor juices (bad wording?!), so this on-the-go snack becomes very hard to eat on-the-go.
Packaging. I want a bigger package to keep at home!
Lack of retailers. Whole Foods is the only grocer offering this product. Otherwise, you can find them online.
While the seitan had a meaty texture, it was not as chewy and smoky as real jerky. I was fine with that, but you might have a different opinion.

Overall: these are delicious, healthy, and satisfying snacks that fulfill my need for something chewy, salty, flavorful, and a little messy :-). I will buy again!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katherine: Unemployed
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 22:23:40

    what an odd idea! I haven’t seen these at my whole foods

    Reply

  2. Laur
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 22:39:50

    I like these. I don’t get them often, but I have seen them also at Right By Nature.

    I peel down the package and hold on to the outside of the package while I eat it little by little, so I never touch it and get messy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

