Project: Food Budget, Week 12

Budget: $75.00
Actual: $77.07

This was a rough week. I was sick and didn’t cook a lot, plus Hubs has an impending exam and has been studying like a mad man. Lately, he’s been coming home around 11pm as I’m getting in to bed. Sad face for us :-(. Anyway, I’m pretty pleased with the spending for the week since our schedules are out of whack and I included an impromptu Whole Foods trip (with a meal from the salad bar!) last night that didn’t break the bank. I’m growing quite fond of Whole Paycheck Whole Foods, especially their large prepared foods section and unique offerings. I got organic apples on sale for 99 cents/pound…can’t beat that! 

So, we’re a dozen weeks into this food budget challenge and this is what I have learned: I don’t know how to take my own advice. I learned pretty early on that meal planning would be extremely helpful in focusing my grocery shopping efforts, but I have yet to do it. I’m still too much into mostly buying what’s on sale, even if it sits in the fridge for weeks and expires before I think to use it. I am of the frugal variety, so I don’t have too much trouble staying on budget…it’s more about maximizing purchases for our benefit. It doesn’t help if I buy an ingredient I’ve been seeing in different recipes, but then don’t actually make the recipe!

Enter meal planning- I know I would save a lot of money by cooking more (and freezing leftovers), buying ingredients specifically for those recipes, and then supplementing that with sale purchases. I guess this is my next project within the project…

Speaking of that, there are some great bloggers joining me in this Project: Food Budget challenge. Check ’em out:

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeannette
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 21:25:44

    Great post! I like your insight. I find myself reading your blogs and being jealous that you are able to stick so close to budget, and then I look at my receipts and wonder where I am going wrong! Your thoughts are helpful!

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 20:52:13

    i love your insights. and that it isn’t so much about the budget, but more about using the foods that you are buying.

    meal planning takes some getting used to. but once you get into the habit of it, it is a quick and easy routine. it helps to pick the same day every week to sit down and put together your list.

    Reply

  3. Stephanie Brown
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 22:08:44

    Hope you’re feeling better and that you and hubs get back on track soon. That ships-passing-in-the-night thing gets old fast.

    I found the opposite for myself going through this challenge regarding planning. I plan too damn much and then end up wasting things. Now, I’m just flying by the seat of my pants and feel much better and am wasting tons less. In fact, some parsley is the only thing I’ve thrown out in weeks. I’m getting really good at tossing all my “about to go bad” stuff into stock or soup or a wrap. Once I get some white miso paste around here, I’ll be unstoppable. LOL.

    One thing I love about the Whole Foods take-out area… all the vegan labels. It’s so relaxing to just go and be able to choose things without being so “on alert.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

