What Would You Do?

You’ve probably asked yourself this question many times. I’d like to know the answer…

What would you do if you won the lottery?

Let’s say that you won $10 million free and clear (after taxes and all that fun stuff). What would you do with that 10 million dollars? After the jumping up and down and screaming in disbelief part…
For some reason, this question kept me up last night and I began to fantasize about all that money…I do understand that you have to play the lottery to win the lottery, but I’m just too cheap for that :-). But if I had $10 mil…

Responsible Julie would first pay off Hubs’s medical school debt, then distribute some moola to various family members that need it. I would help them pay off debt, invest in career paths (hey bro!), and do what I could for them to live comfortably. I would also invest some money for the future/retirement (oh what an adult thing to do!).

Introspective Julie would then quit her job. I like my job, but it would be a luxury to be able to take some time for myself to figure out what I really want to accomplish in life. I haven’t found my passion, and I would like to have the freedom of time to explore all the options out there on my way to finding something I can be proud of.

Adventurous Julie would TRAVEL. That’s obvious to everyone that knows me. I would steal Hubs away from school for a bit (that’s allowed now that we have $10 mil!) and we’d trek across the globe learning about different cultures, each other, and ourselves along the way. We’d road trip in the U.S., get lost in South America, and go down under with the Auzzies. Oh, I have such a long list of places to see and experience…

Philanthropic Julie would give about 10% of that money away. I work in non-profit and I’ve volunteered for plenty of organizations over the years. There are so many worthy charities to donate money and time to. I would like to do some serious research and find a few orgs close to my heart where I can devote my time to advancing their cause and help them raise more money for their future.

So…what would you do?

Leave a Reply

