Project: Food Budget, Week 9

Like I said last week, this week’s grocery shopping was all about me! Well, most of it anyway…

Goal: $75
Actual: $49.99

$7.49 of that was spent on Hubs-only food (meat and loaf of bread). See what happens when I basically shop for one?…well under budget :-). Sorry, husband, I still love you!

I only stopped at two grocery stores this week- Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods…my faves. Instead of rushing to WF after a long work day, I got to enjoy a very leisurely trip through the aisles on Sunday and found that if you stick to mostly sale prices there, it’s easy to stay on budget. I also found out that weekends are not the days to shop at WF and TJ’s, but that’s no surprise 🙂 The parking lots were the worst part…

Anyway, I’m very excited to try a new (to me) product- Brown Rice Protein Powder (of course it was on sale!).

I’ve been reading about protein powders on the blogosphere and thought it would be a good way to boost my not always perfectly healthy diet :-/ And I’ve heard that whey and soy options are not the best way to go…I get enough soy in my diet (soy milk, tofu, alternative meats) and I’d rather try a vegan protein powder, so whey was out! I’ll let you know how this new experiment goes…

Let’s check in with the other Project: Food Budget participants:

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie Brown
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 21:11:46

    I just learned that seitan has 31 g of protein in 3 ounces. That is so much! With that and all the beans, tempeh and tofu I eat, I am good on that. It’s really the veggies where I’m lacking. I’ve got to work on that. Thank goodness spring and summer veggies are on the way. How much of the powder are you going to be consuming? I mean, how much are you feeling like you need? I worry about my son a little bit just because he’s a growing kid and needs more than me. He LOVES smoothies, so it would probably be easy to throw in there. Do write more about how it goes…

    Reply

    • jeannette
      Mar 11, 2011 @ 11:56:34

      When I first became vegan, people rode me about not getting enough protien. That was always their biggest concern. So I tracked all the nutritional info or the food I ate/drank and found my protien intake was fine. I met all the recomendations except sodium (which was really low.) In my frustration with being constantly questioned about my protien intake I did a ton of research. It seems the average person only needs about 50 g per day. Anything more than that actually binds to calcium and is excreeded in urine. They found women that drank the most milk (high protien) have the highest instances of osteoporosis. Children, including teens require less than adults. Most American even vegetarians don’t have issue with getting enough protien. Here is a link to the USDA recomendations.

      http://www.mypyramid.gov/pyramid/meat_amount_table.html

      Reply

      • jeannette
        Mar 11, 2011 @ 11:59:44

        P.S. What kind of smoothie is that? I have been looking up recipes for green smoothies, just have not been brave enough to try them.

      • Julie
        Mar 11, 2011 @ 15:45:14

        Green smoothies usually consist of whatever stuff I have on hand – bananas, apples, berries, kale, spinach, soy/almond milk or water for the liquid. Avocado is great to add in for creaminess & richness!

      • Julie
        Mar 11, 2011 @ 15:51:52

        I’ve been doing some research, too, and I wish other people would realize that we get plenty of protein!
        I like that the protein powder is just a supplement in my diet, like a multivitamin. And I think it will help my family understand that, yes, I am getting enough protein.
        I’m actually more worried about the fruits and veg…some days it’s just not that appealing :-/

      • Stephanie Brown
        Mar 11, 2011 @ 16:01:32

        Oh, see, I thought that my son needed more than me, but looks like everyone in the house needs about the same amount. That has my protein worry level down to zero.

    • Julie
      Mar 11, 2011 @ 15:49:12

      I am definitely not going to fall back on the powder for protein…I still love my beans and tofu (and seitan is great)! I plan to just use it as a supplement, probably one serving every other day in smoothies or other drinks.
      I’m with you on the veggies…can’t wait til spring!

      Reply

      • Stephanie Brown
        Mar 11, 2011 @ 16:04:51

        I’m going to be sweating out cantaloupe, I swear. The anticipation is killing me. Some varieties from Guatemala, etc. are showing up now, but I’m going to hold out for some local stuff.

        Never thought of putting an avocado in a smoothie… but then never thought of putting them in a cake until recently, either. Going to have to give that a go. I’m learning all sorts of new things to do with old foods.

Leave a Reply

