Project: Food Budget, Week 6

We’re 6 weeks into this already?! Time flies when you’re counting cash…
This week we were a little over budget:
Goal: $75
Actual: $79.24

The week’s spending should have been even more inflated had I not attempted to empty out some freezer and pantry contents. There were also two lunches out in a row, which is unheard of for me (read: cheapskate).
So why wasn’t this week’s grocery budget closer to $50? There’s a good reason, I promise.

 

Spaghetti Sauce extravaganza

As part of my new wifely duties, I make a GIGANTIC pot of Hubs’ favorite spaghetti sauce a few times a year. Well, OK, it’s only the second time I’ve made this, but I plan for it to occur a few times a year…It’s a recipe from my mom-in-law that Hubs grew up on, so how can I say no (even though I thoroughly dislike the beef part…)? I mean, I bought SIX pounds of ground beef for this bad boy…not to mention the cans upon cans of tomato products. Here’s the rundown:

6 lbs. beef (Costco) – $17.25
1 gigantor-sized can Tomato Sauce (Costco) – $2.49 (bargain!)
3 cans Stewed Tomatoes – $3.00
(plus 4 small cans tomato paste and 1 large can crushed tomatoes already in the pantry)
Veg (celery, green pepper, onion) – $6.61
Total –  $29.35 (add extra $5 for canned goods already in pantry)

That’s not so bad for about 30 cups worth of spaghetti sauce. Plus it makes hubs oh so happy 🙂

I don’t know if anyone else is making army-sized servings of saucy goodness, but let’s check out the other Project: Food Budget-ers and see what’s cookin’!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie Brown
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 17:54:46

    That is a lotta sauce! But at least you got the meat cooking part out of the way all at once.

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 22:50:17

    was it as good as the last batch? Jared’s going to be really jealous!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Page not found « Motor City Girl in the Steel City

Leave a Reply

