Dairy-free Monday

Happy Love Day to you! It’s unusually warm here in Pittsburgh for mid-Feb, so I’m a happy camper, plus I got to smooch my loved one this morning 🙂

Problem is, I’ve been feeling bloated lately! Too much pizza and ice cream perhaps? So on this chocolate-laden holiday, I am going dairy free. In case you’re wondering, I had bbq beans for breakfast (yes, for breakfast), then snacked on some pistachios and grapes. Now I’m enjoying a ridiculously tasty, veganized Chipotle burrito bowl:

Rice, beans, fajita veggies, salsas, guac, topped off with Tabasco!

I’m DIGGIN the flavor from the fajita veggies and the spice (I just had to add Tabasco…) Mouth on fire in a good way.

For dinner, I plan to roast a bunch of veggies and munch on pita and hummus. It’s a beany kind of day. And then perhaps some dark chocolate? 🙂
I’m feeling better already!

Maybe my dairy-free day was also inspired by meeting the Happy Herbivore yesterday!

Me, the awesome HH cookbook, and author/blogger Lindsay

It was so nice to chat with Lindsay and try some delicious no bake cookies from her book. FYI- she has beautiful, super long hair and is naturally TAN. I know everyone looks tan standing next to me, but she was legit 🙂

Lindsay’s got some great V-Day recipes to get you inspired in the kitchen.
Enjoy the rest of your day and keep spreading the love!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alyssa
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 14:41:39

    I love the fajita veggies at Chipotle and often request them on my already stuffed to the max burritos. I often make black bean fajitas at home – easy and healthy (at least before I add lots of yummy cheese!)

    Reply

    • Julie
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 14:48:40

      The fajita veggies are new to me! I don’t remember them being around the last time I went to Chipotle, which clearly means it’s been far too long! Hope all is well Ms.Speece 🙂

      Reply

  2. Trackback: HH Interview « Motor City Girl in the Steel City
  3. happy herbivore
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 19:15:30

    HAHAH I love your comment “everyone looks supertall next to me but Lindsay is legit!” I look like an ogre!

    thanks for the sweet words about my hair. its kind of like my pet.

    Reply

  4. happy herbivore
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 19:16:39

    omg. you said tan. not tall. oh jesus. thats even funnier.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

