What I Like Wednesday: IV

Another hump day…another “What I Like Wednesday!” Today’s feature is: Sporty Cities. I feel very lucky to have grown up in a city with all four of the major sports leagues present: Detroit Red Wings, Detroit Pistons, Detroit Tigers and Detroit Lions (in preferential order). I don’t know if I can really count the Lions as a sports team….but they do have a beautiful newer stadium!

That’s one of the things I like most about cities with major sports teams- the venues they play at draw crowds and bring life into the city (especially when used as concert venues). They also bring in plenty of revenue from ticket and concession sales and keep A LOT of people working. In the past 10 years, Detroit built Comerica Park and Ford Field (right next to each other), and my new home city built Heinz Field (Pittsburgh Steelers) and, most recently, Consol Energy Center (Pittsburgh Penguins), which just opened up for this year’s hockey season.

Comerica Park and beautiful Detroit skyline view

Crowds at Ford Field

 

Inside view of Heinz Field, plus the river and downtown Pgh skyline

Mock up of the new Consol Energy Center

Just think how much worse off Detroit might look to the outside world if it wasn’t for these modern and aesthetically pleasing venues, the successful teams, the passionate (and sometimes rowdy) sports fan, and the city life abuzzing.

Now, it’s worth mentioning that I’m not a huge sports fan, but I like what major sports team can provide for the community- camraderie, hobbies, city life, etc. I am a very competitive person, however, and I will always protect and be loyal to my Detroit Red Wings!

And in the spirit of getting familiar with my new surroudings, I will be hosting my first ever Superbowl party! I am, after all, a Pittsburgher now, and “my” team is in the Superbowl! How very fitting that this happens right after we move…well, I guess it has happened successfully six times before…

The Terrible Towel makes an appearance! Will the Steelers get to seven Super Bowl wins?!

Go Steelers!
Don’t worry, I’ll be back soon with less sporty and more foodie-related posts soon 🙂

Do you live in a sporty city?

Leave a Reply

