Project: Food Budget Week 2

Hey there friends! It’s my parents’ 28th wedding anniversary! Happy Anniversary Mom & Dad 🙂
My parents have the cutest “how they met/got married” story. EVER. It’s too cool for the whole world to see, so if you reeeally wanna know, I’ll tell you…leave a comment and commence the suspense (rhyme time)!

Hey, it’s Thursday! Time to check on my progress with the Project: Food Budget challenge of spending $300/month on groceries, or about $75/week. Check out other bloggerific friends who are also taking on this challenge:

I think this week is going pretty well so far…probably because I only spent $12.85! Just needed bread, eggs, milk, cream cheese (all for Hubs).
I think it will work to my advantage to keep in mind the $300 monthly goal because I seem to grocery shop sporadically. I stock up one week, and then just fill in the necessities another week. I am also ravaging through my overstocked pantry and getting creative with my lunches, so that’s helping, too!

I don’t plan out a weekly menu to help with my shopping needs, like many others might. I work a lot of nights and weekends and Hubs studies about 60 hours/week for med school, so we never really know when we’ll be home for dinner.
I do think I could at least “budget” or plan out 2-3 dinners/week for each of us (no, we don’t usually eat the same food). I also pack my lunch 3 or 4 times a week and Hubs gets a sandwich once or twice. That’s as much planning as we’ll be doing for awhile…

I do see a large grocery store trip in my near future, so we’ll see how the numbers stack up next Thursday!

Happy Tu B’Shevat (too-beesh-vaht) to all my Jews! It’s the new year of the trees…time to eat lots of fruits & nuts people!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leah the Foodie
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 18:12:00

    Hi Julie! I am also doing the Food Budget and I hear ya on sporadic grocery shopping. I had a well-stocked pantry right after the new year but totally went over-budget for this week! Also, I see that your hubby is in med school; my hubby just got accept to Pitt and will be starting in August!

    Reply

  2. reluctant veggie
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 02:55:35

    i think it’s important to know what kind of budgeting/planning works best for you!

    as much as i hated doing the menu planning, it really helped to make “dinner” less stressful. i’m a firm believer in it now, but it definitely took some getting used to.

    Reply

  3. heypgh
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 19:32:11

    Hi there – always enjoy finding more Pittsburgh bloggers. Love your site and perspective on being a newbie to the ‘burgh. And since it appears to be a trend, I will also mention that my boyfriend is a current Pitt med student!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

