Guess What?

It’s snowing! I like the look of the fluffy flakes but definitely not the feel of it under my tires. And definitely not while I’m driving home from work for almost an hour…

Beyond the weather report, guess what I did. If you said “Julie signed up for her local YMCA’s weight loss challenge,” then you’re right! Here’s how it works: put $20 in to the pot of moola, weight in monthly, and the top three people with the most percentage of weight loss after 3 months win prizes based on how much money was originally put in. Here’s why I like it: I don’t have staggering amounts of weight to lose, but money is always a good motivator! Also, about 20% of the money raised goes towards new equipment for my Y. It’s a win-win in my eyes. My starting weight is 157 pounds and I’m hoping to get down to 130 pounds by early April. That would be a 27 lbs. weight loss, at about 9 lbs. per month.

I think this is a very doable goal, but I’m not going to stress about numbers. I already feel better with a regular workout schedule and gaining muscle mass, so I’m OK with whatever happens. My biggest goals in all of this are to gain more energy and find different workouts that I enjoy doing and will eventually crave.

Guess what I’m also considering…this.
Thoughts? πŸ™‚

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. reluctant veggie
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 21:58:09

    IIN is great! i did the program last year and am loving it. let me know if you have any questions. i’m happy to give an honest perpective. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Julie
      Jan 12, 2011 @ 18:25:13

      Glad to hear! It looks like a great program. I’ve noticed a few other Pittsburghers also taking or have taken. I will certainly be asking questions soon!
      Thanks πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

