Groceries

OK, another sort of new year’s resolution is on the way…I keep track of everything Hubs and I spend in an Excel spreadsheet. It’s divided into tabs for each month and keeps track of the where, when, why, how much, etc. of the things we buy. It’s been quite high these days with school supplies & books, enormously high gas usage, and eating out often. The highest weekly expense we have is probably on groceries, which makes sense.

There are a few problems with this, though…one, we often have food that goes bad, which is wasteful. Two, Hubs and I have VERY different tastes in food and I’m often buying completely separate items. For example, I only buy things for myself when shopping at Trader Joe’s because most of it doesn’t interest Hubs. Third, we have A LOT of shelf stable food in the house that goes unused for long periods of time because Hubs doesn’t cook and I don’t always have ideas of how to use up pantry items.

The first week in January, I really tried to use up what we have and stock up on good stuff that will last awhile. Then I added up how much we spent on groceries this week…a whopping $173.23! That’s a little ridiculous for two people, even with a large Costco run in there. The good thing is that I didn’t eat out once this week, and I think Hubs scaled back, too.

So the next step is to try to limit our grocery budget to the necessities and try to keep it under $75 per week. I understand that some weeks will be more than others, so I’m shooting for about $300 per month overall. That should balance out those times when I stock up on pantry items that last awhile.

I’m joining other bloggers for the Project: Food Budget challenge. Wish me luck!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 20:55:49

    Hi! I’m also participating in this challenge. Good to meet another ‘Burgher. I also have a meat-eating husband 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

