Get Moving

My camera has arrived! I’m very excited because it’s basically a bigger, bad ass version of my old Panasonic Lumix! I haven’t done too much experimenting with it yet, but here are some preliminary pics:

Hello Blog World!

Friends!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

In other news, I’ve made it an effort this week to get moving in one way or another. Call it a new year’s resolution or whatever, I just needed to start working out more regularly. So I attempted level 1 of the 30 Day Shred twice this week, took one spinning class at my local Y, and checked out a couple workout videos on Exercise on Demand (kickboxing & pilates). My favorite “get moving day” was Thursday, when I joined a coworker for a 75-minute Dharma Yoga class at Yoga Matrika and then an elliptical stint at Urban Active.

I loved the yoga studio and this class! The staff was friendly, the studio was large, and yoga mats were ready available for non-owners (and clean!) I don’t think I’ve ever taken a Yoga 2/Dharma 1 class as it’s called, and I really enjoyed that it was challenging but we got to end with a lovely relaxation and breathing exercise covered in cozy blankets. Yoga is such a good way to vary normal workout routines because it focuses on breathing, stretching and meditation and helps restore the body after tougher cardio workouts…Speaking of cardio, that was our next stop!

I got to test out the newer Urban Active fitness center in Bakery Square. It reminded me a lot of Lifetime Fitness, which was popping up all over metro Detroit before I moved. But what I don’t think Lifetime has that Urban does is a freakin’ CINEMA ROOM! I was in love. I’m the type of machine worker-outer that needs to be constantly amused or I will not want to work out on a machine. I like the convenience of just hopping on the elliptical trainer, but you will not see me there without music and magazine in hand.

So I was delighted to find an entire room filled with cardio equipment that was dark and very calming, plus The Devils Wears Prada on a jumbo screen in front of me!

Soon I will get moving again for some wonderful weekend workouts (hello alliteration), but first I will drool over an NY Times article about The 41 Places to Go in 2011. I’ve visited 4 (Danube cities, London, Budapest and Miami), but I shall drool over many more and daydream about all the traveling I’d like to do…but instead, 3 loads of laundry are calling my name!

Happy weekend to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

