Travel Itch

I’ve got the bug. The travel bug, that is. I think it bit me around the age of 13, and by the end of high school I had visited NYC multiple times, took an east coast road trip with a friend, and crossed the pond to France on a group tour. My adventures have only become more extravagant from there. Well, I don’t know if I would describe anything I do to be too extravagant, because I’m cheap after all, but I really put more effort into it when it comes to moving around this lovely globe of ours.

Today, I read about “Lonely Planet’s Top 10 Cities for 2011” and it made me want to scratch the itch, so to speak. It saddens me that I’ve only visited 2 of the 10 cities listed (NYC & Tel Aviv), but it’s even worse that I had never heard of 4 of them (Wellington, Iquitos, Ghent, Chiang Mai)! Now, of course, I’m researching the sites and adding them to the looooong list of places I plan to see in my lifetime.

Here are some other recent things that make me want to scratch the travel itch:
1. Watching the new Hawaii Five-0 series on CBS. Have you noticed the ridiculous scenery?!
2. Planning a summer 2011 trip to Arizona with the Hubs. Travel planning breeds more of me wanting to travel…
3. Pretty much anything that reminds me of my 5 months spent in and around Budapest, Hungary…hostels, coin purses, mulled wine/cider, clothes/jewelry I bought abroad. Sigh.

Who wants to travel with me?! We can scratch each other…

Leave a Reply

