Review: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

I just finished this first book in a series of three by the magnificent author Stieg Larsson (rest in peace).

I loved this book! I’ll admit, I was thrown off by all of the Swedish landmarks, street names and references (IKEA anyone?!), but the plot was great. It was intense, thrilling, and I loved how the characters were all intertwined and effected each other in some way. The main characters are very uniquely described. I feel like I know who they are, but at the same time I’ve never met anyone like them. And the mysteriously story line, or rather lines, made me not want to put this book down, and I often wouldn’t part with it for hours. I just let the book take me away at times, especially in Part 3 “Mergers” and the beginning of Part 4 “Hostile Takeover.”

At first I didn’t like how there was a majorly climactic point with over 100 pages left in the book. I thought “well, where is the author going to take us now?” but I just kept reading and another plot unfolded before my eyes! Like I said, there are two more books in this series, so I can’t wait to see where Stieg Larsson takes the characters next and how much more he can develop their crazy lives.

I’ll be honest, it takes a little while to get into, maybe 70 or 80 pages. But eventually it will click that, even though there are a few different stories being told, they will eventually come together and rock! Get past that hurdle and the fact that the text was obviously translated from Swedish, and you’ll be set.

Fun Fact: while I was searching for the book’s cover image for this post, I discovered that it has become a movie! I’m not sure if I should look into this or not. I’ve kind of developed the “look” and mannerisms for the characters, so I’m undecided about watching the story play out visually, especially with two more books to read in the series. I don’t want to automatically think of the movie characters’ faces when I pick up The Girl Who Played With Fire and then The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest. Hmmm….to watch or not to watch?

Leave a Reply

