Hobbies

Someone recently asked me if I had any hobbies. Seems like a simple enough question, right? But it kind of took me aback, and I really had to think about my answer. Well, I like to blog I suppose. And I have started to really enjoy reading and participating in two book clubs, so that definitely counts. Beyond those, I couldn’t really come up with much. I remembered what I used to tell people, probably in my teenage years: “I like to shop, go bowling, sleep, and hang out with friends.” Of course hangin’ out is ambiguous and can mean different things in different situations. I still love to sleep, but that’s a necessity, so strike that one. I don’t really bowl much anymore…and shopping is a lame hobby, let’s be real. I could say I’m one of those weird people who likes grocery shopping, and I’m always up for a good bargain, but is that enough?

What even constitutes a hobby? It is defined as “an activity or interest that is undertaken for pleasure or relaxation, typically done during one’s leisure time.” (Thanks Wikipedia.) OK, so reading and blogging work. And, as sad as it is, watching TV counts as well (I do love television…), but what else?
I’ve pondered this question many a time, but even more so since I’ve moved to a new city. I feel like moving comes with a whole new world of opportunities, because everything really is new! It’s exciting and different and scary all at the same time. And now is my time to figure all that out and see if I can come up with a new hobby in the mix. I’m on the right track with the new book clubs, and I’m hoping to continue to try new things and see what works. There will be hits and many more misses, but that’s the point!
I feel like there are SO MANY things to do in this world, and we shouldn’t be afraid to try things. So just get out there and do something (I am partially speaking to myself here)!

OK, stepping off my soapbox. That is all for now!
(Funny pics below when Googling “hobby” images…)

.

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. geraldine
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 19:13:29

    speaking of hobbies and trying new things… whatever happened to your “try something new everyday” scrapbook project?!

    Reply

    • Julie
      Oct 14, 2010 @ 03:08:30

      haha that was a summer thing between graduation and going to hungary. now i just try to live life with that idea in mind…as for the scrapbook, that never really came together. i think i’m stuck in july somewhere?!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

