Food Update

I’ve been a little MIA lately…I had a 3-day work week again (woo hoo!) but it felt like 8…just super busy! But I’m back in action and ready to share with the world how much fun I’ve had with food lately. Oh food, you are my friend…

For this post, I must go back a week. I haven’t talked about food on my blog for a whole week?! I’m a little ashamed…time to make up for it! I’ll start with something homemade:

A tasty lunch of roasted potatoes and brussel sprouts with a portabella, roasted red pepper, and pepper jack cheese wrap. All so easy but it looks so schmancy on my paper plate! Roasting veggies is the easiest way I’ve found to prepare them while still keeping, and even enhancing, their flavor. Brussel sprouts are seriously good when halved, tossed with a little oil and balsamic and roasted at 350 for about 25 minutes. I never really ate them as a kid (no automatic “yuck” reflex from me!), but I’m glad I’ve started 🙂

I’ve also been going out to lunch a lot lately, whether it be for meetings or just to see friends. Here are some of my latest treats:

Seaweed Salad

Thi Saun Hin (Mixed vegetable and chickpea soup bowl)

.

I dined on these exotic and extremely satisfying dishes at Burma Tokyo, which is a quaint Thai/Myanmar restaurant also offering a decent sushi menu. They cater mostly to the college crowd because of their very reasonable prices and central location in Oakland (neighborhood with many campuses & hospitals). I’m already trying to convince some co-workers to go back with me!

Now, let’s move away from Asia and into Mexico! Well, more northern Mexico…well let’s just call it around the California and Texas borders basically…I’m referring to Mad Mex, a restaurant touting their “Funky Fresh Cal Mex! Big Azz Margaritas!” I didn’t see any of these margaritas, but I did enjoy a Big Azz burrito:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

My “Angry Hippie Burrito” contained spicy spinach, pico de gallo, grilled portabellos and Monterey Jack cheese with the typical beans and rice to boot! Ahhhh, AND a side of ridiculous guacamole! I was in CalMex heaven, especially after tasting the deliciously creamy and spicy chickpea chili to start. This was soooo much food that I ate for about 3 days after. Totally worth the wait- Hubs and I have been trying to visit this restaurant since we moved to Pgh. I think this was our 4th attempt! Note to self, Wednesday night at 9pm is a good time to dine at Mad Mex…

OK, one more trek across the globe…onto Italia! Well, this is a serious stretch because The Spaghetti Warehouse is no Tuscan countryside, but you get where I’m going…

I’ll start with the things I liked about this chain restaurant; one, their prices are good. Two, they offer whole wheat pasta. Three, they serve sourdough bread. Four, they remind me of a restaurant I used to waitress at (ohhh, Family Buggy, good memories). OK, that last one isn’t necessarily good or bad but I’m trying to be optimistic here. I walked away from the restaurant with a full belly (good thing because I was super hungry!) but I will not be returning. It just wasn’t anything special…OK, one more good thing: their website is MEATBALLS.com! Hahahahahaha.

I’m going to end this post with some major fall goodness (More food blogging to come SOON!):

First Pumpkin Spice Latte of the season!

My local McGinnis Sisters offers apple cider samples. Yay!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. imke
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 09:28:00

    hey julie,
    brussel sprouts are actually really good when steamed as well. they taste like little bursts of spring in your mouth. For easy steaming, just boil two cups of water and hang an all metal sieve in your pan (don’t hang in in the water) and try out how long it takes for different kinds of veggies. It really preservers the flavor, keeps stuff from going bitter and all of the vitamins are kept as well. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

