Review: The Hour I First Believed

I cannot believe it, but I actually read a 720-something page book from cover to cover in less than 3 weeks! I know, I shocked myself with that one, especially because I freaked out a bit when I saw our next book club pick for the first time.

The Hour I First Believed, a fiction novel written by Wally Lamb, felt so real at times. It discusses the Columbine events of 1999 to such an extent that I had to question whether Wally had actually been there and just renamed himself in the book. He is quite the writer, delving deeply into life’s ups and downs, tragedies and triumphs, secrets, history and beyond. Obviously, if I can finish this massive read in less than 20 days, you can do it, too. And I would recommend you read it, and then move on to his other works like I plan to do. I look forward to reading She’s Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True. (I suggest not reading any book reviews before diving into The Hour I First Believed, but here’s one just in case. I suggest just jumping in!)

Can’t wait to share my thoughts with book club! Oh, and I must start reading for my other book club! Up next is Jonathan Tropper’s This Is Where I Leave You.

Leave a Reply

