Time To Be A Tourist

My family is coming, my family is coming! Oh, and did I mention that I only had a 2-day work week?! Yup, I was in the office just Tuesday and Wednesday this week because tonight is the start of Rosh Hashanah.

Tomorrow morning will be spent at the synagogue with Hubs’s family and then we’re off to a new year’s lunch at Lidia’s. Apparently, the Lidia has a show on PBS called “Lidia’s Italy” , so the restaurant should be a real treat! Then, to top it all off, my mom and brother will be arriving in the afternoon.

In case you don’t know me, I have the tendency to be pretty organized and am very fond of spreadsheets and itineraries (sometimes). Well this was one of those times because I may have made a spreadsheet of the touristy activities my family and I are planning to partake in during our weekend of exploring Pittsburgh! Must see’s include: Station Square, South Side Works (where Cheesecake Factory is!), Duquesne Incline, and the Zoo & Aquarium. Oh, and we will be attending a Hungarian Cimbalom (Tzeem-bah-loam) event at a restaurant, 5 course meal and all! I can’t wait to share pictures.

P.S. Fall is coming! It’s already getting chillier in Pgh, and all kinds of random treats are being infused with pumpkin goodness. Pumpkin Spiced Lattes from Starbucks, good old-fashioned pumpkin pie (see picture of GIANT canned pumpkin), and pumpkin cream cheese?! Yesterday I picked up a dozen Bruegger’s bagels because the Hubs is a big fan, and I treated myself to a cinnamon sugar bagel with bright orange, pumpkiny cream cheese. It looked something like this:

And it tasted delicious! I can’t wait to get my hands on a pumpkin coffee treat next.

But for now, it’s time to celebrate the new year and prepare for a touristy family weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

