Holidays All Around

Good Saturday morning to you! I am enjoying the long weekend so far, after a treacherous Friday full of driving. There is one thing you should know when visiting Pittsburgh…if you need to cross a bridge or go through a tunnel, there will be traffic.

This picture was taken on the Fort Pitt Bridge heading into the Fort Pitt Tunnel at 2pm-ish on Friday. And there was traffic! Of course bridge AND tunnel traffic is the worst, but I just can’t get used to the fact that there is almost always an abundance of cars on the road. It doesn’t allow me to gauge how long it will take to get to a meeting, nor can I assume I will arrive at work at the same time everyday by leaving at the same time.
This is the only thing I don’t like about Pittsburgh… OK, done whining now.

On my driving extravaganza yesterday, I managed to travel all around the world. Well, at least it felt like that. I passed through South Park, rode up and down the hills of Mt. Lebanon, had an “Office” flashback in West Mifflin (I know it’s set in Scranton, PA), and reminisced about France in North Versailles (even though the residents sadly pronounce it Ver-sails). It was amusing to enter each new town, especially because I come to home Shangri La every night.

Now, I am very much looking forward to what is ahead, including a lot less driving. What I’m really excited about is my 2-day work week coming up! Starting this Wednesday night is the Jewish new year Rosh Hashanah! That means apples and honey, family time, and no work 🙂
This year, that also means mama and bro are visiting. I’m very excited to have a touristy weekend with them. Now I need to make a list of what to do!

Enjoy the long weekend and, if you celebrate, have a healthy, happy and sweet new year!

Leave a Reply

