Busy Weekend

Happy Sunday! It has been a busy weekend for me, but all good things. Friday, my father in law came into town, so hubs took a night off and finally got to see a little of Pittsburgh! We all went into town for dinner at Church Brew Works.

Church or brewery?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

This former church turned brewery offered an extensive menu, a Hofbrahaus-like atmosphere, and an inviting smell of hops and malt mixed with fresh, daily pierogies and homemade brick oven pizzas that filled the air and my nostrils. I was in heaven! To make it even better, we dined outside in the garden area on a beautiful and calm evening.

Daily Pierogi- something with potatoes, chives, and a roasted tomato topping. Yummy!

Seven Onion soup & a tasty stout

Hi Hubs!

Dinner was awesome, and I can’t wait to go back and try many more menu items. Pizza tops my list!

Saturday and Sunday were filled with work events that were also very fun things I would probably do in my free time anyway, so that worked out! I started off Saturday with the best drink I’ve ordered to date at Starbucks…an extra coffee caramel frappucino with soy milk. Trust me, it’s delicious! Hubs can’t get enough and he doesn’t even like soy milk. The combo of extra espresso, creamy and sweet caramel, and a hint of Starbucks soy, and it’s magic on my tongue!

There were more magical things to come in the evening, starting with dinner at The Cheesecake Factory! Did you know that the CF originated in Detroit in the 1940s, but there are no modern day restaurants in my hometown?! It’s horrible news, but I’m happy to report that there are TWO CFs in Pgh! Woo hoo, bring it on. I dined with a new friend Sara and one of her friends. Sara and I have freakishly weird things in common (same middle name & shoe size, both new to Pgh, bdays exactly 3 days apart…), so this will be fun! Dinner included a roasted pear & blue cheese “pizzette” (flat bread pizza) with pecans, arugula and carmelized onions. OMG good! Topped that off with RED VELVET CHEESECAKE. You must try this. It’s amazing. Sara and I could barely finish a piece between the two of us, so come hungry and bring friends!

Sara and CHEESECAKE

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Saturday night, I participated in the Pittsburgh debut of Holy Rollers, a film inspired by actual events from the late nineties when Hasidic Jews were recruited as mules to smuggle ecstasy from Europe into the United States. It was pretty intense and I thought very good acting as well. I especially like Jesse Eisenberg, Justin Bartha (who’s from WB!), and Ari Graynor. Afterward, the younger crowd headed over to OTB for drinks and appetizers. Everyone had a great time, and I was excited to be a part of it all.

Packed OTB

I got home around 1am and woke up 7 hours later to do it all over again! Well, I had another work event, but this one was a little different. I hosted a brunch and Ducky Tour for Pgh newcomers (like myself)! It was a great tour of the city in and out of the water. Pictures to come tomorrow.
Enjoy your evening πŸ™‚

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. geraldine
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 01:57:52

    i love the idea of transforming the church into a brewery! it’s so much better than abandonment. when i visit, we must go there. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

