Steep

Did you know that Pittsburgh is a city FULL of hills? I never realized that or really thought about it, but I am quickly learning about all the ups and downs.

This picture doesn’t even do this hill justice. My heart actually skipped a beat when I first tried to pull up this puppy. Crazy!
Detroit is flat. And it’s a simple grid system that’s pretty easy to memorize. Oh, I miss that.

So why did I even attempt to climb this hill (with my car)? To volunteer of course! I spent my Sunday morning cleaning up an old park that became overgrown with weeds and littered with broken glass.

Before

Middle

After!

It’s nice to see such a tangible result after volunteering my time for a couple hours. There was no real park in this area of town for the neighbors and children to play, so now they have a blank canvas to do with what they want!

I was pretty exhausted after my labor intensive morning and enjoyed a leisurely afternoon filled with TV/movie watching and reading. Among other things, I watched the movie “P.S. I Love You.” One word- LAME. From what I remember of the previews, I thought there was supposed to be some kind of secret revealed in all the letters the deceased husband sent to his wife over the course of a year after he died. It wasn’t like that….I’m into chick flicks and all, but this didn’t do much for me.

Today I kinda feel like “a case of the Mondays.” It wasn’t a bad day by any means, just long and lagged on at times. I took a coffee break around 3pm and walked with a couple co-workers to a nearby Starbucks. Then it started raining….sideways. Apparently, it rains horizontally in Pgh and one should always carry an umbrella, just to be safe. I didn’t get the memo. I also don’t normally take coffee breaks or drink the stuff too often, and I think that actually messed up my system a bit. Or maybe it was my yummy, yet odd lunch:

BBQ tofu & mushroom wrap with homemade slaw

Delicious and semi-homemade, but maybe too much vinegar in the slaw. But that’s usually how I like it…
Well, I’m off to bed. Sweet Dreams!

Leave a Reply

