One Month

We made it through our first month in Pittsburgh! I have to say it has been an eventful and pretty exciting 31 days. Hubs is slavin’ away in front of the books and I am getting the hang of this girl-working-in-the-city thing.

Yesterday I got a real treat in the form of a lunch meeting! Food & work, I can deal with that…especially because it was at a delicious Indian buffet.

We visited this cute restaurant in an old home called Tamarind for curry, chickpea, eggplant, naan and other goodness. The food was super tasty, very reasonably priced, and the best part (for me) was that the meat dishes were off to one side so it made it super easy for me to know what to choose (especially since I don’t always know what’s in the Indian food I’m eating). And there were so many more non-meat options, which is probably why I was pretty stuffed.
Dinner was almost as fun,  but there was no restaurant involved…just “La Cuisine Julie.” Haha, I am French now. Here’s dinner:

The ULTIMATE Greek salad- mixed greens, chickpeas, feta, beets, tomatoes and lentils

Happy Plate for the hubs- chicken schnitzel, white rice, corn

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Today was a really great day. I’m not particularly sure why, but I’m happy for this day.  I was productive and busy at work, had a pretty scrumptious and filling homemade lunch, read in the park, and did some shopping. It doesn’t get much better…
I fueled up at lunch with a mixed green salad and tofu/veggie stir-fry with brown rice:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

So filling I couldn’t even finish the stir-fry! That is rare for me…
After work, I decided I didn’t want to sit in traffic for 45 minutes during rush hour, so I explored the area around my office and found a spot in a park to read. I just happen to work very close to University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University, so the buildings were tall and rich with history and the parks were plentiful.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

I spent a glorious hour and a half reading in a peaceful park, and then topped it off with some shopping at The Pitt Shop and Rue 21. Can you believe I got 4 Pitt t-shirts, 2 work shirts, and 5 tank tops for $37?!?! Unbelievable, I know. AND they don’t add sales tax on “necessities” like most clothing items. WOO HOO! I am a happy camper.

I came home ravenous after my evening out and about, so I put together the easiest snack EVER that would totally be suitable to serve to guests (and the hubs):

 

Semi-homemade pita chips & TJ's chipotle hummus

Semi-homemade Pita Chips
– Pre-heat oven to low broil
– Slice up a whole wheat roll up (LOVE these things) into pretty little triangles
– Spread out on baking sheet
– Lightly spray with Pam or other cooking spray
– Broil for 2 minutes, flip and broil for 1 more minute
Devour immediately!

 

Starting to cut the wrap into 16 little triangles

Ta da! Simple and so delicious, especially paired with Trader Joe’s chipotle hummus mixed with a little whipped cream cheese. Mmmmm!

“Dessert” was an easy as pie recipe as well. I switched up the banana soft serve recipe I had previously shared and made it into a tropical soft-serve.

Tropical Soft-Serve
(Serves 1)
1 frozen banana, broken up into chunks
1/4 cup frozen pineapple chunks
Splash of orange juice (until soft-serve consistency is reached)
Add banana pieces into food processor one at a time, alternating with frozen pineapple. Slowly add a little OJ until a smooth, ice-cream like consistency occurs (could take a couple minutes). Scrap sides of bowl as needed.
Gobble up.

 

Magical food processor

 

Yum! Ready to be eaten

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Creamy and delicious! The soft-serve came out this beautiful white, coconut-y color and took me back to the beaches of the Caribbean! Speaking of that, I can’t wait to share my thoughts on the book I’m reading, which is set in Jamaica!

Leave a Reply

