BB&B

On Sunday I enjoyed BB&B…no, not Bed, Bath & Beyond (although I am a big fan), rather Bach, Beethoven and Brunch. It’s a summer classical music series located in Mellon Park. FYI: Everything here is named after Mellon or Carnegie (example: Carnegie Mellon University).

Music tent & lots o' people

Brunch tent

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The park was lovely, as was the company. The weather, however, was horridly humid but not that hot. It was weird, but we made the best of it and thoroughly enjoyed the fine workings of Bach, Beethoven and all their friends!

Some of our spread

After some lovely classical music and chit chat, I made my way to Trader Joe’s. And then I saw the coolest bathroom EVER:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Who knew TJ’s could get any cooler?! Haha, I enjoyed my time there even more after that. Later in the evening I put together a mini feast, including corn I bought from the side of the road. Yep, Denny’s sweet corn (not Denny’s like the restaurant)! They have a couple stands near where we live that are always overflowing with fresh corn and lots of customers. We really enjoyed it, too!

Corn, roasted sweet potatoes & chicken schnitzel for ma man.

My plate- sweet taters, corn, beets & sharp chedda from TJ's (weird combo, but that's what I wanted!)

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

For dinner, I spiced it up a bit and tried the Tofurky coconut curry tempeh strips in a stir fry with grilled onions, zucchini, mushrooms, tomatoes and a dollop of FF greek yogurt. I love that this reminds me of Indian food but is not overpowering at all.

Curry tempeh stir fry

Today it was back to the grind! It’s my first real week of work and I’m already saying “the grind.” Just kidding! I’m enjoying it. And I enjoyed today’s leftovers lunch, too, along with a lentil, feta and roasted red pepper salad. Add a little balsamic vinaigrette and you’re set!

Lunch at my desk...yup, I was that busy!

After work, I thought it’d be smart to avoid the rush hour traffic and head to Costco since I needed to make a stop there anyway. Well my plan backfired because there was plenty of traffic on my 5 mile drive to Costco! Grrr. Just stay calm…I did have a productive shop there and I saw a fun section that my metro Detroit Costco did not have:

A kosher section, who knew?! I was excited just to see that….I was also pleased that this was a quiet Costco (at least on a Monday afternoon/evening), and that it is located on The Waterfront near lots of other cool shops.

Last thoughts of the evening: I just got palpated by the hubs. He’s studying for school people! Don’t get the wrong idea 😉

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 02:54:11

    fun reading – thank you!
    love,
    me

    Reply

Leave a Reply

