First Week Down

I survived my first week of the new job! It was a long, meeting and information-filled week, but I think everything went really well. It’s not too often that the person you’re replacing is still there for a few days when you start, so that helped me learn all the details of the position and gauge my jumping off point.

Back to Thursday night, though. I had a dinner meeting at Buffalo Blues, which by the sound and look of it, is totally an all-American pub/grill, Bdubs kind of place. But the wonderful thing was all the veggie options! There were probably a dozen choices for me on the large menu. I wasn’t all that hungry so I just enjoyed a bowl of veggie black bean soup topped with pico de gallo and a dollop of sour cream:

Served with tortilla chips, this soup was the perfect amount of beany, creamy, and spicy. The pico de gallo on top added some great flavor and texture. Yay for soup! I also brought home a very manly & meaty sandwich for the hubs called the Gobbler Impersonation Club. He liked it!

On Friday, I ended the work week with one of my favorite packaged snacks:


This 100-calorie pack of goodness will fill you up and give you just the right amount of sweetness for a snack. I’m not even that big of a nut fan, but these are awesome. Try ’em!

When I got home from work, I got the best surprise of all- an impromptu date night with the hubs! We wined and dined and….well, we had dinner and then did some shopping. We attempted to try Mad Mex (for the second time) and found out it was an hour wait. No thanks! So we headed to the Penn Monroe Grill for some typical bar food. Hubs enjoyed a burger (of course), and I was limited to one meal choice.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

At places like this, a.k.a. Hubs’ favorite type of bar & grill, I’m usually limited to one or two menu items, most notably a veggie wrap or sandwich. And that is what I ordered…but I was pleasantly surprised by how tasty the meal was! I started with a house salad that didn’t contain one piece of iceberg lettuce, so plus one in my book already. Then I devoured the wrap which reminded me of veggie fajitas with grilled onions, peppers, mushrooms and cheese topped with lettuce and tomato and occasionally dipped in honey mustard. Add some wavy chips and a dill pickle, and I am one happy camper! The thing that made it even better was getting to shop at Monroeville Mall with the hubs afterward. We picked up some much needed school and work attire and enjoyed the mall atmosphere:

Kids play area & a Steelers store of course

Police office in the mall?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

And now I am enjoying this glorious, lazy Saturday. Hope you are too!

Leave a Reply

