Meetings

I feel like I’ve been in meetings allllll week. Well, I guess I have because I need to get to know lots of people at my new job. Everyone seems great, and I think I’m really gonna like it here! Even though I’ve been really busy with all my meetings, I’ve made time for fun of course. Lunch is always fun! Yesterday’s included salad and yogurt:

Spinach, chickpeas, red peppers, sundried tomatoes, feta & balsamic vin.

FF greek yogurt w/a drizzle of agave & Kashi Go Lean Cereal

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The salad was very filling because of the chickpeas, but I overpowered it with strong flavored sundried tomatoes. This time around I also tried a different fat free plain greek yogurt from Dannon (rather than my beloved TJ’s), and it was deliciously creamy. I also loved the individual container that only had 80 calories but 15 grams of protein! Woo hoo protein…plus the agave gave it a not to strong sweetness and the Kashi cereal a nice crunch and texture. I’m not always in the mood for yogurt, but sometimes it really hits the spot!

After work I explored the Shadyside area to get more familiar with it and ran across this cute tchotchke shop called Kards Unlimited:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

As cute as this place was, the main reason I went to Walnut St. in Shadyside was for a FREE cooking technique class at Williams Sonoma! It involved food and it was free, so you know I am SO in on that! The topic for last night’s class was “the art of seasoning” so they explained a lot of their fancy seasoning products and how to properly cook with them. We sampled bread with different salts, chicken with hickory smoked sea salt (not I, but the hickory salt smelled AWESOME!), asparagus with lemon herb seasoning, and potatoes with Herb de Provence (it had lavender in it…oooh lala!). The asparagus was bright green & perfectly cooked and the potatoes were OUT OF THIS WORLD good, ya know, for a potato. They had pretty grill marks and were a little crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. Mmmm!

Bread w/different sea salts

Asparagus cooking & the Spice Bible!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Today was another great foodie day because I tried out Sababa in Squirrel Hill. Isn’t that a fun name for a restaurant?! Sah-Bah-Bah! According to Urban Dictionary, it also means “cool, great, no problem” and/or “Sababa is not just a word but a way of life… it is almost like HAKUNA MATATA… it really is just like ‘no worries’ ‘it’s all good’ ‘cool’ ‘awesome’.” Now you know!

The contents of my falafel lafa- falafel, hummus, tahini, red cabbage, pickles. DELICIOUS!

Beautifully bright green falafel balls

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

This food rocked my day. The ridiculously fresh falafel & toppings were wrapped in a gigantic, warm and buttery lafa. It was not too heavy or greasy or sour or sweet…it was just right! I couldn’t even finish it because it was so big (for only $6!) but I managed to scarf down the rest later. The other best part of this lunch, besides the great company, was the ending when we were served complimentary turkish coffee and a date:

They offer this wonderfully strong and slightly bitter hit of caffeine alongside a plump, gooey date if you order a main meal. I did not know this (since we only got falafel sandwiches and an appetizer), but they happily served us anyway. 2 thumbs up! Sababa!

Now, I am waiting to go to yet another meeting! And while I type away at Border’s, this is my view:

Not too shabby 🙂

Leave a Reply

