First Day

I survived the first day at my new job! And I think I’m really gonna like it. I had meetings all day just to get to know people and see what the place is all about. It was a busy and productive day! Guess what my favorite part was…lunch, of course! I found a great little cafe nearby:

Red Oak Cafe- fresh, healthy, and fast!

Lunch rush

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The Red Oak Cafe has some seriously yummy sounding veggie options, like the Rice & Beans Plate with brown rice, vegan chili, and veggies, and the Veggie Taco Salad with veggie meat, beans, avocado, corn, and lots of other goodies in a honey lime cilantro dressing, plus many other options! Oohh lala. I wanted something light, so I opted for the Green Garden Salad with spinach & romaine, tomatoes, cucumber, carrots, beets (!!), broccoli, daikon radish, celery, homemade croutons, and avocado vinaigrette.

My large lunch salad

My taste buds were immediately hit with the tang and creaminess from the dressing and it was the perfect amount of both. The homemade croutons rocked and all the veggies were yummy and fresh tasting. I will definitely be visiting again, especially because it’s close and pretty cheap, and the salad portions are huge!

This is no joke...Pitt signs everywhere, even above the restroom

While I was enjoying my plate full o’ greens, I also noticed a whole lot of Pitt apparel, business suits, and scrubs. What a combination! I work right near the University of Pittsburgh and a hospital, plus there are lots of businesses around so I really feel like I’m living in a big city, and I love it! It’s a small city in a medium sized city as someone mentioned to me…I think that was in reference to the fact that Pittsburgh is pretty drivable and small size wise, but there are plenty of pedestrian areas and a lot to do and see!

So my day at work was great, but what was not so wonderful was traffic. OK, traffic SUCKED. I was kind of expecting it because there’s been traffic at all different times of day, every day, so I knew rush hour would be especially bad. I just tried to stay zen and relaxed because there was nothing I could do about it. I’m just not looking forward to spending over an hour and a half of my day in the car 😦

Blah traffic...but at least there are some nice bridges to look at

After recovering from the traffic blues, I tried something new for dinner- Coconut Curry marinated tempeh strips by Turtle Island Foods (the people who created Tofurky):

I put them into a wrap with roasted peppers, onions, zucchini, lettuce, and cheese. I have to say these coconut curry infused tempeh strips were seriously delicious! They had a great texture, which originally turned me off about this fermented soybean product, and a great mild curry flavor from the marinade. Not too strong or spicy…just right!

My unrolled roll up

Dinner altogether- wrap, corn from the Whole Foods farmer's market, and potato salad from the Lenchner gathering. Yum!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Dinner was great because I got to share it with the hubs! That hasn’t happened in a while, so I am a happy camper. Well, I’m off to bed soon, I’ve got an early wake up call 🙂

Leave a Reply

