African Daisy

Did you know that the Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens is awesome?! That’s where I spent my morning- among the trees, gardens, butterflies, gargoyles and Dale Chihuly sculptures. It was lovely. I had lovely company. And I paid the lovely price of $0 to get in. Yay! My new friend Jenny (another LECOM wifey) found out the conservatory was free today so, of course, I was all in. We saw so many beautiful flowers, leaves, bonsai trees, and a giant agave plant that grew out of the glass ceiling.

The colors on these leaves looked painted with a brush!

Cool Bonsai Tree

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I loved the glass sculptures, the very tall agave plant, the amazingly groomed gardens, but most of all, I loved the African Daisy. It’s my new favorite flower. And it has purple in it!

African Daisy, sooo pretty!

Agave growing out of the roof

Agave & Chihuly

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

We worked up an appetite, so lunch was the only logical next step. We ended up in the South Side to dine at Over The Bar Bicycle Cafe. I bought a Groupon awhile back so I could check out this bicycle themed bar that serves seitan wings.

My "alley cat pita" with seitan bites, lettuce, carrots and provolone served with yummy onion rings

Jenny's "rail trail wrap" with chicken, cheese, lettuce & carrots and "big rings"

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I feasted on a wrap featuring the seitan wings I’ve read about and some amazing looking “big rings.”  The pita was warm and soft and the seitan had a good texture and flavor but was a bit too salty for my taste. And the rings- YUM! very tasty, but I couldn’t eat them all because it was a little too much fried food for my belly. We also thoroughly enjoyed the decor:

Art and bicycles galore

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I can’t wait to explore the city even more because today was great! And tomorrow, I official start my job, so a new adventure awaits! I’ll leave you with these fun photos:

I was a gargoyle guarding the garden...

Jenny saw the giant agave!

Leave a Reply

