Weekend Recap

What a lovely weekend it was! It started off with cleaning very early on Saturday morning as you know, but then came pie:

Good ol' Cherry Pie

"B" for Blueberry

Mmmm mini pie for me

I picked up cherry pie from the farmer’s market for a family gathering (more on that later) and indulged in an ooey gooey mini blueberry pie. Mmm homemade pie…just like mom never made. Haha. Then I enjoyed a partly sunny afternoon at the JCC’s Family Park in Monroeville.

Splish Splash

Beachy!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The rest of the evening was uneventful, as most of my Saturdays are and probably will be until med school is over…

Sunday began with this breakfast treat:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I’ve been wanting to try the Jocalat line of Lara Bars– well I’ve actually wanted to try Lara Bars altogether- because they are organic and have very few ingredients for a meal replacement type bar. My chocolate coffee flavor included organic dates, walnuts, hazelnuts, cocoa, cashews, and coffee. That’s it! What a thought to put real food in a snack bar and nothing else. Now, it was no Hershey’s or Dove, but I enjoyed the fruity flavor and chewiness from the dates and the crunch and satisfaction from the nuts. It was a “chocolate” bar I felt good about having.

It also gave me energy to pack & distribute food for the Squirrel Hill Food Pantry this morning:

Food Pantry & volunteers

Food all packed up & ready to be distributed

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I had a lot of fun volunteering with ex-Detroiter Jenn & her friend Amy. They were also my pool dates the day before 🙂
Later, I snacked on a juicy pear that I got from the Export farmer’s market:

Yum. I LOVE pears!

And this evening I enjoyed a Lenchner family gathering. That’s the hubs’ family that lives here, and they all got together (from Pitt & Florida) so the whole family could be together…plus me. Yeah, hubs couldn’t join us because he was STUDYING. Ahhh it’s crazy how intense school is for him right now! So I represented the Rosenbaums…

Gathering for a Lenchner picture

Smile!

Dessert table...pie look familiar? P.S. CHOCOLATE CAKE!

Even though I was an outsider by anyone’s standards, the family made me feel totally at home, and they fed me very well, too! I enjoyed homemade bruschetta, a ridiculously delicious goat cheese/red pepper/toasted pine nuts dip, caesar salad, pasta salad, and potato salad. Yay for salad! And yay for starting my new job tomorrow!
Goodnight to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

